Lead
Patients with diabetes who are overweight have a particularly bad outcome if infected with SARS-CoV-2. A possible explanation may be overactivation of the IL-1beta system. Indeed, metabolic stress and SARS-CoV-2 both induce IL-1beta secretion, which may lead to excess mortality in these vulnerable patients.

Lay summary

Background

Activation of the innate immune system by IL-1 is apparent at all stages of development of obesity-associated type 2 diabetes and its complications. Accordingly, IL-1 antagonism has been shown to improve glycaemia and to lessen cardiovascular complications. Several studies have shown that coronavirus stimulates the NLRP3 inflammasome, leading to a severe inflammatory response by the IL-1beta pathway. We hypothesise that both mechanisms synergise, leading to deleterious hyperinflammation as is often observed in obese diabetic patients infected with SARS-CoV-2.

Research aims

This is a multicentre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled study to assess the efficacy of canakinumab compared with placebo in hospitalised overweight patients with COVID-19 and type 2 diabetes. The study will randomise patients from eight Swiss hospitals to canakinumab or placebo, in addition to standard of care per local practice, which may include antiviral treatment (e.g. remdesivir), corticosteroids and/or supportive care but no other immunomodulatory medications.

Expected results and envisaged products

We hope to see beneficial effects for patients on mortality, requirement of ventilation and intensive care medicine as well as on duration of hospitalisation. Our findings may have consequences for the treatment of patients with diabetes and COVID-19 as well as for other viral infections.

Specific contribution to tackle the current pandemic

Our contribution to the current pandemic may be to improve treatment of the disease as detailed above. We will also examine whether putative long-term complications such as shortness of breath and loss of smell can be prevented by canakinumab. Last but not least, we expect to see confirmation of the beneficial effects of canakinumab and other IL-1 blockers on blood glucose, as observed in previous diabetes studies.

Lead
Le pronostic est particulièrement mauvais pour les patients diabétiques en surpoids qui sont infectés par le SARS-CoV2. Cela peut s’expliquer par une suractivation du système IL-1bêta. En effet, le stress métabolique et le SARS-CoV2 entraînent tous les deux la sécrétion d’IL-1bêta. Cela peut être la cause d’une surmortalité chez ces patients vulnérables.

Lay summary

Contexte

L’activation du système immunitaire inné par l’IL-1 est manifeste à tous les stades de développement du diabète de type 2 associé à l’obésité et de ses complications. En conséquence, on a démontré que les antagonistes de l’IL-1 pouvaient améliorer la glycémie et atténuer les complications cardio-vasculaires. Plusieurs études ont montré que le coronavirus stimulait l’inflammasome NLRP3, entraînant une réponse inflammatoire sévère par la voie de l’IL-1bêta. Nous posons donc l’hypothèse que les deux mécanismes entrent en synergie et entraînent ainsi une hyper-inflammation délétère, comme on l’observe souvent chez les patients diabétiques obèses atteints par le SARS-CoV2.

Objectifs de recherche

Cette étude multicentrique randomisée en double aveugle contrôlée par placebo a pour but d’évaluer l’efficacité du canakinumab, par rapport à celle d’un placebo, chez des patients hospitalisés atteints du COVID-19, en surpoids et avec un diabète de type 2. L’étude va administrer du canakinumab ou un placebo de manière randomisée à des patients de huit hôpitaux suisses, en plus de la norme des soins locale, laquelle peut comprendre un traitement antiviral (p.ex. remdésivir), des corticostéroïdes et/ou des soins de soutien mais pas d’autres médicaments immunomodulateurs.

Résultats et produits envisagés

Nous espérons constater des effets bénéfiques pour les patients, à savoir moins de mortalité et moins de recours à la respiration assistée et aux soins intensifs, ainsi qu’une hospitalisation plus courte. Cela peut avoir des conséquences sur le traitement des patients diabétiques atteints du COVID-19, de même que sur d’autres infections virales.

Contribution à la lutte contre la pandémie actuelle

Notre contribution à la lutte contre la pandémie actuelle pourrait être d’améliorer le traitement de la maladie, comme expliqué ci-dessus. Nous examinerons également si les complications à long terme présumées, telles que souffle court et anosmie, peuvent être évitées grâce au canakinumab. Enfin, nous espérons vivement être en mesure de confirmer les effets bénéfiques du canakinumab et d’autres inhibiteurs de l’IL-1 sur la glycémie, comme cela a été observé dans de précédentes études sur le diabète.