Lead
A ‘forest transition’ is a turnaround from historical forest loss to forest gain, as experienced by Switzerland since 1850. Forest regrowth may result from abandonment of less productive farmlands as a country modernizes and urbanizes, or, from policies and initiatives which promote forest protection or new plantations. Forest transitions have recently been described for several tropical countries, prominently including Vietnam, but the exact nature of the transitions and their feedback into development remain largely uninvestigated.

Lay summary

Content and aim of the research project

 

Our aim is to contribute to a better understanding of tropical forest transitions as they relate to sustainable development. Focusing on a study site in Central Vietnam, we will (i) describe recent forest cover changes and their causes, including widespread planting of Australian acacias and ecological succession in different forest types, and (ii) investigate the consequences of these changes on availability of timber and non-timber products and other types of ecosystem services like watershed protection. We will (iii) assess the livelihood outcomes and valuations of different types of forests for local stakeholders within current institutional, economic, and policy contexts; in particular, we will (iv) investigate the effectiveness of new ‘payments for forest environmental services’ policies.

 

Scientific and societal context of the research project

 

Our project will generate essential information on the impacts of diverse processes (policies, socio-economic change, ecological dynamics) in achieving a practical, sustainable forest management regime that maintains, restores and optimizes key forest ecosystem functions and services from both planted and natural forests. Research will be connected to outreach programs, including capacity building for forest professionals, knowledge exchange between stakeholders, and evidence-based policy improvements and innovations.

Lead
Une « transition forestière » est une reprise forestière, comme la Suisse en fait l’expérience depuis 1850. La reprise forestière peut être le résultat d’un abandon de surfaces agricoles peu productives alors que le pays se modernise et s’urbanise, ou de politiques publiques et d’initiatives favorisant la protection forestière ou les nouvelles plantations. Les transitions forestières ont récemment été décrites dans plusieurs pays tropicaux, notamment au Vietnam, mais la nature exacte de ces transitions et leurs conséquences en termes de développement restent largement inexplorées.

Lay summary

Contenu et but du projet de recherche

Notre objectif est de contribuer à une meilleure compréhension des transitions forestières tropicales et de leur rôle en termes de développement durable. Sur la base d’un site d’étude situé au centre du Vietnam, nous allons (i) décrire les dynamiques récentes et les causes des changement de la couverture forestière, en incluant la plantation généralisée d’acacias australiens et la succession écologique dans différents types de forêt, (ii) explorer les conséquences de ces changements sur la disponibilité en produits ligneux et non-ligneux et autres types de services écosystémiques tels que la protection des bassins hydrographiques. Nous allons par ailleurs (iii) évaluer, au sein des contextes institutionnels, économiques et de politiques publiques actuels,  les conséquences en termes de moyens de subsistance pour les acteurs locaux et la manière dont ils sont évalués en fonction des différents types de forêts; en particulier, nous allons (iv) examiner l’efficacité des nouvelles politiques publiques de « paiements pour services sylvo-environnementaux ». 

Contexte scientifique et sociétal du projet de recherche

Notre projet générera des informations sur les impacts de divers processus (transformations socio-économiques et de politiques publiques, dynamiques écologiques). Ces informations sont indispensables à un régime de gestion forestière pratique et durable qui maintient, restaure et optimise les fonctions-clefs et les services de l’écosystème, qu’il s’agisse de forêts plantées ou naturelles. La recherche sera associée à des programmes de sensibilisation. Il s’agira principalement de programmes de renforcement des capacités des professionnels de la foresterie, d’échange de savoirs entre acteurs et d’amélioration et innovation en matière de politiques publiques fondées sur des preuves.