Lead
Artificial intelligence (AI) is increasingly used in the citizen-government relation today. Governments have progressively adopted this technology to respond to a growing demand to (i) digitalize public action, (ii) optimize its operations and services, and (iii) increase citizen engagement in the development, implementation, and evaluation of public policies. In this context, AI offers a competitive advantage to those who have the financial means and /or the technological capacity to harness its power.

Lay summary

When introducing (or allowing the use of) this technology in democratic processes, governments also introduce a degree of uncertainty and vulnerability. Civil society, and particularly individual citizens, take a risk when their interaction with government or their participation in policymaking is mediated by AI. Considering the limited AI awareness and literacy of citizens and policymakers, we question the reflexivity (or consciousness that one is taking a risk) of such risk-taking and risk-making decisions. Deploying AI in democratic processes is not neutral and may have long-lasting negative effects on the trust that citizens place in their governments, the transparency and accountability of policymaking, as well as in their capacity to have a meaningful influence in this process. Additional research must be conducted to assess the citizen perception of AI in this context and its impact on trust. In addition, it is imperative to raise awareness and literacy about AI so that citizens can adapt and take advantage of this new AI-mediated relation.

The limited transparency and accountability of these actors, and the tools they sell to some political actors, increase the asymmetry of power in the policymaking process, as well as raises question about the legitimacy of the process itself. This study confirms previous research including from Mayer-Schonberger and Ramge (2018), who contend that power will increasingly be concentrated in the hands of those who have developed the capacity to collect and control valuable data. Wu (2010) and Harari (2018) predict the growth of cartels and monopolies. Without control over data accumulation, users are deprived of some of their agency over personal information, which can then become an open door to unfair data management practices, such as discrimination (Cinnamon, 2017). 

This study concurs with these studies by arguing that in an AI-mediated citizen-government context, power lies with those who hold the AI and big data capacity. In this context, we need to adopt a human-centered approach to AI that respect human rights and contributes to the resilience of liberal democracy. We argue that we need to go beyond current guidelines and recommendations to (i) implement a moratorium on the use of AI developed and managed by private actors, (ii) develop AI literacy campaigns, and (iii) build pilot projects to assess how AI- mediation impacts citizen participation and trust in liberal democracy.

Lead
L'intelligence artificielle (IA) est aujourd'hui de plus en plus utilisée dans la relation citoyen-gouvernement. Les gouvernements ont progressivement adopté cette technologie pour répondre à une demande croissante de (i) numériser l'action publique, (ii) optimiser ses opérations et services, et (iii) accroître l'engagement des citoyens dans le développement, la mise en œuvre et l'évaluation des politiques publiques. Dans ce contexte, l'IA offre un avantage concurrentiel à celles et ceux qui ont les moyens financiers et/ou la capacité technologique d'exploiter sa puissance.

Lay summary
En introduisant (ou en autorisant l'utilisation) de cette technologie dans les processus démocratiques, les gouvernements introduisent également un certain degré d'incertitude et de vulnérabilité. La société civile, et en particulier les citoyens, prennent un risque lorsque leur interaction avec le gouvernement ou leur participation à l'élaboration des politiques a pour intermédiaire une forme d'IA. Compte tenu de la sensibilisation et des connaissances limitées des citoyens et des décideurs en matière d'IA, nous pouvons questionner la réflexivité de ces décisions de prise de risque. Le déploiement de l'IA dans les processus démocratiques n'est pas neutre et peut affecter à long terme  la confiance que les citoyens accordent à leurs gouvernements, et aux processus d'élaboration des politiques publiques. Des recherches supplémentaires doivent être menées pour évaluer la perception de l'IA par les citoyens dans ce contexte et son impact sur la confiance. En outre, il est impératif de sensibiliser et d'éduquer les citoyens à l'IA afin qu'ils puissent s'adapter et tirer profit de cette nouvelle relation médiatisée par l'IA.

Cette étude confirme des recherches antérieures, notamment celles de Mayer-Schonberger et Ramge (2018), qui affirment que le pouvoir sera de plus en plus concentré entre les mains de ceux qui ont développé la capacité de collecter et de contrôler des données volumineuses. Wu (2010) et Harari (2018) prédisent la croissance des cartels et des monopoles. La présente étude rejoint ces études en affirmant que dans un contexte où la relation entre gouvernement et citoyen est facilitée par une forme d'IA, le pouvoir appartient à ceux qui détiennent la capacité d'IA et de big data. Dans ce contexte, nous devons adopter une approche de l'IA centrée sur l'humain, qui respecte les droits de l'homme et contribue à la résilience de la démocratie libérale. Cette étude propose d'aller au-delà des lignes directrices et des recommandations actuelles, pour (i) mettre en œuvre un moratoire sur l'utilisation de l'IA développée et gérée par des acteurs privés, (ii) développer des campagnes d'alphabétisation sur l'IA, et (iii) construire des projets pilotes pour évaluer l'impact de la médiation de l'IA sur la participation des citoyens et la confiance dans la démocratie libérale.