Lead
Ground Tests studies and activates artistic, design, and media research, as extra-disciplinary knowledge practices advancing and elaborating the accesses, means and values of communities of concern engaged by such study.

Lay summary

Ground Tests studies and elaborates art, design and media research. We undertake extra-disciplinary investigations that connect contexts, communities, and concerns through means that animate non-traditional knowledge practices. How should these be composed, and how should they work ? Our ‘tests’ activate concepts and styles with their origins in cultures of art, design and media creativity, while diverting these modes toward socially and ecologically responsible issues and ends.

Ground Tests investigates current artistic perspectives, design practices, media systems and digital methods as cross-cutting activators of change, allowing human and nonhuman collectivities to represent and express their circumstances and interests, needs and desires. Informed by these explorations, this project tests and grounds the ‘whys’ and ‘hows’ of artistic and design investigations, through empirical experiments that are responsive, respectful and impactful. 

Ground Tests undertakes case studies and actions at the critical, permeable and shifting boundaries of ecology and culture, nature and science. The project draws on the experimental orientations of existing practitioners to inspire and enlarge our modes of creating site- and subject-specific inquiries with collective social, political, ecological import and impact. We intend an elaboration of the scope of research itself, what it is and what it does, as active and responsible engagements with the contexts in which this work is undertaken. How do we reflexively regard the repercussion and beneficiaries of knowledge practices? What accesses are created to the means and outcomes of creative research, in practice?

Lead
Ground Tests étudie, élabore et produit de la recherche en art, design et média. Par des enquêtes extra-disciplinaires qui connectent les contextes, les communautés, et les préoccupations qui activent des pratiques non traditionnelles. Comment les composer, comment fonctionnent-elles ? Nos « tests » active des concepts et des modèles qui ont pour origines les cultures de l’art, du design et de la création médiatique, tout en les détournant vers des questions, des effets à des fins sociales et écologiques.

Lay summary

Ground Tests étudie, élabore et produit de la recherche en art, design et média. Par des enquêtes extra-disciplinaires qui connectent les contextes, les communautés, et les préoccupations qui activent des pratiques non traditionnelles. Comment les composer, comment fonctionnent-elles ? Nos « tests » active des concepts et des modèles qui ont pour origines les cultures de l’art, du design et de la création médiatique, tout en les détournant vers des questions, des effets à des fins sociales et écologiques.

Ground Tests examine les perspectives artistiques actuelles, les pratiques de conception, les systèmes médiatiques et les méthodes numériques en tant qu’activateurs transversaux du changement, permettant aux communautés et aux collectifs humains et non humains de représenter et d’exprimer leurs attachements, intérêts, besoins ou désirs. S’inspirant de ces explorations, ce projet teste les « pourquoi » et les « comment » des investigations artistiques et conceptuelles par le biais d’une expérimentation empirique réactive, respectueuse et pertinente. 

Ground Tests entreprend des études de cas et des actions aux frontières critiquables, perméables et mouvantes de l’écologie et de la culture, de la nature et de la science. Le projet s’appuie sur les orientations expérimentales de praticien existant, et s’en inspire pour élargir les manières spécifiques d’enquêter sur des situations ayant un impact social, politique et écologique fort. Nous visons une évaluation de la portée de la recherche elle-même, de ce qu’elle est et de ce qu’elle fait, en tant qu’engagements actifs et responsables dans les différents contextes explorés. Comment observer de manière réflexive la répercussion et les bénéficiaires des pratiques de connaissance ? Quels sont, en pratique, les accès aux moyens et aux résultats de la recherche créative?