Lead
With this inter- and trans-disciplinary project we want to demonstrate in cooperation with partner companies from five different sectors that sustainable management in the form of a circular economy can be ecologically beneficial and profitable for companies.

Lay summary

Background
Our economy is primarily based on a linear principle according to which, at the end of a product’s lifecycle, it is disposed of and not reused. The consequences are the generation of waste and inadequate use of natural resources. This is where the principle of a circular economy comes in. A number of reasons, when possible and purposeful, a product is never disposed of as waste, but rather can be disassembled, refreshed and profitably returned to a new product cycle. A number of reasons lead to an increased interest in the principle of the circular economy: Overuse of natural resources, price volatility of raw materials, increased consumption and population growth, as well as negative effects of waste on ecosystems. In addition, alternative industrial systems and associated business models in Western economies with highly competitive and saturated markets are seen as drivers of innovation.

Aims
The objective of this inter- and trans-disciplinary project is to show that the principles of the circular economy can be applied to companies in the Swiss economy ecologically and economically. In this regard, we are working together with eight well-known partner companies and will prepare industry-specific business plans, which show how the developed resource-efficient patterns of the circular economy can be introduced into the value chains of the participating companies.

Importance
As part of this project we want to help Swiss companies make a relevant contribution towards the avoidance of waste thanks to innovative business models and enable them to switch to resource-friendly production of goods without neglecting the economic perspective. Maintaining profitability and the resulting stimulus for the economy from new business models will reveal unexploited potential. The broad scope of topics requires a comprehensive view and an interdisciplinary approach. Therefore our research team comprises environmental scientists, lawyers, political scientists and economists.

Lead
Mit diesem inter- und transdisziplinären Projekt möchten wir in Zusammenarbeit mit Partnerunternehmen aus fünf unterschiedlichen Branchen praxisnah aufzeigen, wie nachhaltiges Wirtschaften in Form einer Kreislaufwirtschaft ökologisch sinnvoll und für Unternehmen gewinnbringend sein kann.

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Unsere Wirtschaft basiert mehrheitlich auf einem linearen Prinzip, bei dem Produkte am Ende ihrer Lebenszeit entsorgt und nicht weiterverwendet werden. Die Folgen sind die Entstehung von Abfall und eine unzureichende Nutzung von natürlichen Ressourcen. Hier setzt die Kreislaufwirtschaft an. Verschiedene Gründe, dass ein Produkt, wenn möglich und sinnvoll nie als Abfall entsorgt wird, sondern am Ende seiner Nutzungsphase wieder demontiert, aufgefrischt und gewinnbringend in einen neuen Produktzyklus zurückgeführt werden kann. Verschiedene Gründe führen zu einem erhöhten Interesse am Prinzip der Kreislaufwirtschaft: Übernutzung von natürlichen Ressourcen, Preisschwankungen bei Rohstoffen, Verbrauchssteigerung und Bevölkerungswachstum sowie negative Effekte von Abfällen auf Ökosysteme. Des Weiteren werden alternative Industriesysteme und dazugehörende Geschäftsmodelle in westlichen Volkswirtschaften mit stark umkämpften und gesättigten Märkten als Treiber von Innovationen betrachtet.

Ziel
Ziel dieses inter- und transdisziplinären Projekts ist es aufzuzeigen, wie Prinzipien der Kreislaufwirtschaft von Unternehmen in der Schweizer Wirtschaft ökologisch und ökonomisch nachhaltig angewandt werden können. Dazu arbeiten wir mit acht renommierten Partnerunternehmen zusammen und erstellen branchenabhängige Businesspläne. Diese zeigen auf, wie die erarbeiteten, ressourceneffizienten Muster von Kreislaufwirtschaft konkret in die Wertschöpfungsketten der beteiligten Unternehmen eingeführt werden können.

Bedeutung
Im Rahmen des Projekts möchten wir dazu beitragen, dass Schweizer Unternehmen dank innovativen Geschäftsmodellen einen relevanten Beitrag zur Vermeidung von Abfall leisten und auf ressourcenschonende Produktion von Gütern umsteigen, ohne dabei die ökonomische Perspektive zu vernachlässigen. Der Erhalt der Profitabilität und die aus den neuen Geschäftsmodellen resultierenden Impulse für die Wirtschaft offenbaren unausgeschöpftes Potenzial. Die thematische Breite verlangt eine umfassende Betrachtung und eine interdisziplinäre Herangehensweise. Aus diesem Grund setzt sich unser Forschungsteam aus Personen aus den Umweltwissenschafen, den Rechs- und Politikwissenschaften und der Volkswirtschaftslehre zusammen.