Lead
FORS is a national social science infrastructure and conducts surveys on a wide array of social science topics that allow for the long term observation of political and social structures and change. Most of the surveys are also of comparative nature and part of large international survey programs where FORS conducts the Swiss part. The surveys conducted in this funding period are ESS, EVS, ISSP/MOSAicH, SELECTS and the SHP

Lay summary

FORS missions includes conducting scientific surveys on a wide array of social science topics. All these surveys are on the current Swiss National Roadmap for research infrastructures. More information can be found on the tri-lingual FORS website at www.forscenter.ch.

The funding for the period 2017-2020 includes the following components:

The European Social Survey (ESS) is a biennial, cross-national survey that started in 2002. In 2013 the ESS was awarded ERIC status. The current funding proposal includes two waves (in 2018 and 2020).

The European Values Study (EVS) was one of the first established collaborative projects in the social sciences in Europe. Since 1981, every nine years a large academic-driven survey is carried out simultaneously in European countries. The next EVS wave will take place in 2017.

The “Measurement and Observation of Social Attitudes in Switzerland” MOSAiCH integrates several international repeated surveys, namely the International Social Survey Programme (ISSP) and questions from the Eurobarometer. Two waves are planned in 2017 and 2019.

The Swiss Electoral Studies (Selects) is the main research project studying voting behavior in Switzerland and in comparative perspective. Selects will be conducted around the 2019 national elections ant they include international project such as the Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES) and the Comparative Candidate Survey (CCS).

The Swiss Household Panel (SHP) is a unique longitudinal study that allows for the analysis of mid- to longterm micro-social change on a wide variety of topics. Collecting data on households and individuals since 1999, the SHP data allow longitudinal analyses over a period now spanning 18 years and four more years will be added in the coming funding period.

Lead
FORS ist eine nationale sozialwissenschaftliche Infrastruktureinrichtung und führt Umfragen zu verschiedenen sozialwissenschaftlichen Themen durch, welche die langfristige Beobachtung von politischen und sozialen Strukturen und Veränderungen erlauben. Die meisten Umfragen sind vergleichend und Teil von internationalen Studien, zu denen FORS den Schweizer Teil beiträgt. Die Studien in der nächsten Finanzierungsperiode sind ESS, EVS, ISSP/MOSAicH, SELECTS und das SHP.

Lay summary

Die Mission von FORS beinhaltet die Durchführung von Umfragen zu einer Vielzahl von Themen. All diese Umfragen sind Teil der nationalen Infrastruktur-Roadmap. Ausführliche Informationen finden sich unter www.forscenter.ch.

Die Finanzierungsperiode 2017-2020 beinhaltet folgende Komponenten:

Der European Social Survey (ESS) ist eine vergleichende Studie die seit 2002 alle zwei Jahre durchgeführt wird. 2013 erhielt ESS den ERIC-Status. In der laufenden Periode finden zwei Befragungen statt (2018 und 2020).

Die European Values Study (EVS) war eine der ersten grossen vergleichende Projekte in den Sozialwissenschaften in Europa. Seit 1981 werden alle neun Jahre Befragungen gleichzeitig in vielen europäischen Ländern durchgeführt. Die nächste EVS-Welle findet 2017 statt.

Die Studie “Measurement and Observation of Social Attitudes in Switzerland” MOSAiCH integriert verschiedene international Studien, namentlich das International Social Survey Programme (ISSP) und Fragen aus dem Eurobarometer. Zwei Wellen sind 2017 und 2019 geplant.

Die Swiss Electoral Studies (Selects) ist das wichtigste Programm um Wahlverhalten in der Schweiz zu erforschen. Selects wird um die nationalen Wahlen 2019 durchgeführt und beinhaltet auch die Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES) und den Comparative Candidate Survey (CCS).

Das Swiss Household Panel (SHP) ist eine einzigartige nationale Längsschnittstudie welche es erlaubt, über einen langen Zeitraum Veränderungen zu untersuchen. Seit 1999 werden im Rahme des SHP die gleichen Personen und Haushalte in inzwischen 18 Wellen befragt. Vier weitere Wellen werden in den kommenden vier Jahren dazukommen.