Lead
Intelligent software agents will soon be engaging in question-and-answer dialogues with us, as well as providing us with information and entertainment. To enable such interactive applications, this project is investigating fundamental methods of machine speech comprehension and learning.

Lay summary

Conversational agents require a series of reading capabilities. They need to be able to identify references to persons, organisations, events and concepts – comparable to automatically creating Wikipedia links. Despite the fundamental ambiguity and context sensitivity of our language, they must be able to understand who or what is being referred to. The facility to recognise and extract the content of statements is also essential. Recent advances in deep learning provide ways of understanding the meaning of sentences independently of the choice of words and sentence structure. The ultimate aim is to develop suitable discourse models which, in combination with situational understanding, permit effective interaction with humans.

Numerous different algorithms help us to procure and evaluate information, including in the context of search engines or social media. The same applies in the areas of entertainment or e-commerce. Intelligent, conversational systems to which we can direct spoken queries in natural language are being used to an increasing extent. The economic and social consequences of these new technologies are enormous.

Conversational software must be able to understand text and language automatically. This means more than just handling spoken queries. A deeper understanding of the documents and texts containing the world’s knowledge is also called for. The aim of this project is to develop new methods of text comprehension: What is the subject matter and what is being said? What could be relevant or interesting to a user? These are questions that demand an algorithmic solution.

Lead
Bald schon werden uns intelligente Softwareagenten Rede und Antwort stehen und uns mit Unterhaltung und Information versorgen. Damit solche interaktiven Anwendungen möglich werden, untersucht dieses Projekt Grundlagenmethoden des maschinellen Sprachverstehens und Lernens.

Lay summary

Dialogfähige Agenten benötigen eine Reihe von Lesefähigkeiten. Sie müssen etwa Referenzen auf Personen, Organisationen, Ereignisse und Begriffe identifizieren – also quasi automatisch Wikipedia-Links erstellen – können. Sie müssen trotz der fundamentalen Mehrdeutigkeit und Kontextabhängigkeit unserer Sprache verstehen, von wem oder was die Rede ist. Auch muss der Gehalt der Aussagen erkannt und extrahiert werden. Hier bieten neuere Verfahren des «Deep Learnings» Möglichkeiten, den Bedeutungsinhalt von Sätzen unabhängig von Wortwahl und Satzbau zu verstehen. Schliesslich geht es darum, geeignete Diskursmodelle zu entwickeln, die verbunden mit einem Situationsverständnis eine effektive Interaktion mit Menschen ermöglichen.

Vielfältige Algorithmen helfen uns bei der Beschaffung und Bewertung von Informationen, etwa im Zusammenhang mit Suchmaschinen oder sozialen Medien. Gleiches gilt für den Bereich der Unterhaltung oder des E-Commerce. Mehr und mehr kommen dabei intelligente, dialogfähige Systeme zum Einsatz, an die wir gesprochene Anfragen in natürlicher Sprache richten können. Die wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen dieser neuen Technologien sind enorm.

Eine dialogfähige Software muss automatisch Text und Sprache verstehen. Dabei geht es nicht nur um gesprochene Anfragen, sondern auch um ein tieferes Verständnis der Dokumente und Texte, in denen unser Weltwissen niedergeschrieben ist. Dieses Projekt entwickelt neue Methoden des Textverstehens: Wovon ist die Rede und was wird ausgesagt? Was davon könnte für einen Nutzer relevant oder wissenswert sein? Fragen, die einer algorithmischen Lösung bedürfen.