Lead
Intelligent software agents will soon be engaging in question-and-answer dialogues with us, as well as providing us with information and entertainment. To enable such interactive applications, this project is investigating fundamental methods of machine speech comprehension and learning.

Lay summary

Conversational agents require a series of reading capabilities. They need to be able to identify references to persons, organisations, events and concepts – comparable to automatically creating Wikipedia links. Despite the fundamental ambiguity and context sensitivity of our language, they must be able to understand who or what is being referred to. The facility to recognise and extract the content of statements is also essential. Recent advances in deep learning provide ways of understanding the meaning of sentences independently of the choice of words and sentence structure. The ultimate aim is to develop suitable discourse models which, in combination with situational understanding, permit effective interaction with humans.

Numerous different algorithms help us to procure and evaluate information, including in the context of search engines or social media. The same applies in the areas of entertainment or e-commerce. Intelligent, conversational systems to which we can direct spoken queries in natural language are being used to an increasing extent. The economic and social consequences of these new technologies are enormous.

Conversational software must be able to understand text and language automatically. This means more than just handling spoken queries. A deeper understanding of the documents and texts containing the world’s knowledge is also called for. The aim of this project is to develop new methods of text comprehension: What is the subject matter and what is being said? What could be relevant or interesting to a user? These are questions that demand an algorithmic solution.

Lead
Des agents logiciels intelligents seront bientôt en mesure de répondre à nos questions et de fournir divertissement et information. Afin de rendre possibles de telles applications interactives, ce projet explore les méthodes de base de la compréhension et de l’apprentissage automatique du langage.

Lay summary

Des agents aptes au dialogue ont besoin d’une série de compétences de lecture. Ils doivent par exemple pouvoir identifier des références sur des personnes, des organisations, des événements et des notions, c’est-à-dire créer presque automatiquement des liens de type Wikipédia. Malgré l’ambiguïté fondamentale de notre langue et son caractère contextuel, ils doivent comprendre de qui et de quoi l’on parle. Le contenu des déclarations doit aussi être compris et extrait. De nouveaux procédés de "Deep Learnings" offrent ici la possibilité de comprendre le contenu sémantique des phrases indépendamment du choix des mots et de la syntaxe. Il s’agit enfin de développer des modèles de discours appropriés qui, associés à une compréhension de la situation, permettent une interaction effective avec des personnes.

Divers algorithmes nous aident à obtenir et à évaluer des informations, en lien par exemple avec des moteurs de recherche ou des médias sociaux. Il en va de même dans le domaine du divertissement et de l’e-commerce. Dans ce contexte, on utilise de plus en plus des systèmes intelligents et aptes au dialogue auxquels, on peut poser des questions en langage naturel. Les conséquences économiques et sociales de ces nouvelles technologies sont énormes.

Un logiciel apte au dialogue doit comprendre de manière automatique texte et langage. Il ne s’agit pas seulement de répondre à des questions posées de vive voix, mais d’être capable de comprendre en profondeur des documents et des textes dans lesquels notre connaissance du monde est consignée. Ce projet développe de nouvelles méthodes de compréhension des textes: de quoi parle-ton et qu’exprime-t-on? Qu’est-ce qui pourrait être pertinent ou intéressant pour un utilisateur? Ces questions nécessitent une réponse algorithmique.