Lead
We are looking for an alternative to the important natural antibiotic colistin. With this in mind we are systematically exploring related structures by chemically synthesising those that do not occur naturally.

Lay summary

When nothing else works, maybe colistin will. Nowadays this antimicrobial peptide of natural origin is used as the last resort against many multiresistant germs. Yet it can have considerable side effects, and there are now bacteria that are resistant to it. Other peptides offer particular promise in the search for alternatives to this important substance. We have already discovered some that are active against multiresistant bacteria by systematically investigating peptides related to colistin that do not occur naturally. They have never been studied before because they are not natural substances. We are now optimising these artificial peptides, investigating their mechanism of action and assessing which might be useful for medical purposes.

Background
We are using the chemical space approach. This term refers to the total number of existing molecules that can be used as medicines. Nowadays the chemical space can be explored efficiently using bioinformatic methods and automated chemical synthesis, and this is being done in many laboratories. We have expanded this approach to include new molecules that are not found in nature and which have therefore not been studied previously.

Aim
Our goal is to identify previously unknown peptides whose antibiotic action and favourable pharmacological profile may potentially make them suitable for use in human medicine. The intention is to put these peptides into clinical development.

Relevance
New antibiotics are important for public health. One particular advantage of our peptides is that they are easy to synthesise and can therefore be optimised. They are also easy to patent because they are chemically unique, which makes them a very interesting proposition for clinical development.

Lead
Nous cherchons une alternative à cet antibiotique naturel puissant qu’est la colistine. Pour cela, nous étudions systématiquement par synthèse chimique des structures apparentées qui n’existent pas dans la nature.

Lay summary

Lorsque plus rien ne fait effet, il reste peut-être la colistine. Ce peptide antimicrobien d’origine naturelle est utilisé aujourd’hui en dernier recours contre de nombreuses bactéries multi-résistantes. Mais il peut avoir de graves effets secondaires et des souches résistantes ont fait leur apparition. Dans la quête d’alternatives, ce sont essentiellement d’autres peptides qui sont très prometteurs. En explorant systématiquement des peptides apparentés à la colistine mais qui n’existent pas dans la nature, nous en avons déjà découvert qui agissent sur les bactéries multi-résistantes. Nous allons optimiser ces peptides synthétiques, comprendre leur mécanisme d’action et voir lesquels entrent en ligne de compte en tant que médicaments.

Contexte
Notre approche se fonde sur l’espace chimique. On entend par là l’ensemble des molécules existantes pouvant servir de principes actifs. En combinant la bioinformatique et la synthèse chimique automatisée, on peut aujourd’hui explorer efficacement l’espace chimique, ce que font de nombreux laboratoires. Nous avons étendu cette approche à de nouvelles molécules qui n’existent pas dans la nature et n’ont donc jamais été étudiées jusqu’à présent.

Objectif
Notre objectif est d’identifier de nouveaux peptides qui aient une action antibiotique et un profil pharmacologique favorable leur permettant de servir de médicaments pour l’être humain. Ces peptides doivent ensuite entrer en développement clinique.

Importance
La découverte de nouveaux antibiotiques est cruciale pour la santé publique. Nos peptides ont l’avantage d‘être faciles à synthétiser et donc à optimiser. En outre, leur originalité chimique leur permet d’être protégés par des brevets, ce qui les rend très intéressants pour le développement clinique.