Lead
This research proposal aims at securing financial support for continuation and development of the Swiss Household Panel (SHP) for the years 2014-2016.The principal aim of the SHP, a longitudinal study launched in 1999, is to observe social change. In particular, it follows the dynamics of changing living conditions and social representations in the population of Switzerland.

Lay summary

The principal aim of the Swiss Household Panel (SHP), a longitudinal study launched in 1999, is to observe social change. In particular, it follows the dynamics of changing living conditions and social representations in the population of Switzerland. Moreover, the SHP is a comprehensive survey covering a broad range of social fields and a variety of topics and all members of the households in the panel aged 14 years and over are interviewed.

During the years 1998-2007, The Swiss Household Panel was a joint project run by the Swiss National Science Foundation, the Swiss Federal Statistical Office, and the University of Neuchâtel. Since January 2008, the SHP is part of the Swiss Centre of Expertise in the Social Sciences (FORS), located at the University of Lausanne.

An overview of the present and future Swiss social sciences survey landscape shows that the SHP has a special place within it, being the only longitudinal study offering data to analyse micro social change in the mid to long term and on a comprehensive scale. This unique project has allowed numerous researchers to analyse the SHP data on a very large variety of topics, in many fields of the social sciences, and has already led to around 460 publications. The SHP organises an International Conference of Panel Data Users in Switzerland every two years, which has greatly contributed to the interdisciplinary scientific exchange among Swiss and foreign researchers. Since 2010, the SHP also organises a Methodological Workshop in order to stimulate longitudinal analysis.

During the next funding period (2014-2016), besides the management of the SHP_I, SHP_II, and SHP_III, we will further develop the SHP in two main areas, i.e. (1) weighting schemes, and (2) questionnaires, mainly to minimize and correct for attrition, and to improve the analytical potential of the SHP for the scientific community. During the same period, we will also further develop our collaboration with the NCCR LIVES in particular.

Lead
Le principal objectif du Panel suisse de ménages (PSM), une étude longitudinale débutée en 1999, est d’observer le changement social. En particulier, il permet d’étudier les dynamiques relatives aux conditions de vie et aux représentations sociales de la population vivant en Suisse. De plus, le PSM est une enquête multithématique qui couvre de nombreux champs sociaux et inclut des thématiques variées ; en outre, tous les membres des ménages panélisés sont interrogés (dès l’âge de 14 ans).

Lay summary

Durant les années 1998-2007, le PSM a été un projet mené en commun par le Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique, l’Office fédéral de la statistique et l’Université de Neuchâtel. Depuis janvier 2008, le PSM fait partie du Centre de compétences suisse en sciences sociales FORS, hébergé par l’Université de Lausanne.

 

Une vue d’ensemble du présent et de l’avenir du paysage des enquêtes en sciences sociales en Suisse montre la place bien particulière qu’occupe le PSM en son sein. Ainsi, il s’avère la seule étude longitudinale qui fournit des données permettant l’analyse du changement (micro) social à moyen et long termes sur une base multithématique. Ce projet unique autorise de nombreuses recherches sur une grande variété de thèmes et dans différentes disciplines des sciences économiques et sociales ; à ce jour, environ 460 publications sont basées sur le PSM. L’équipe du PSM organise une année sur deux une conférence intitulée « International Conference of Panel Data Users in Switzerland », conférence qui contribue grandement aux échanges scientifiques entre chercheurs suisses et étrangers. De plus, depuis 2010, le PSM organise également un atelier de travail méthodologique afin de stimuler l’analyse longitudinale.

 

Durant la période de financement 2014-2016, outre la gestion des PSM_I, PSM_II et PSM_III, nous continuerons en particulier le développement du PSM dans deux principaux domaines : (1) les pondérations et (2) les questionnaires avec pour objectifs de minimiser, voire de corriger, les effets de l’attrition d’une part, d’augmenter le potentiel analytique du PSM d’autre part. Durant cette même période, nous continuerons à développer notre collaboration avec le Pôle de recherche national « LIVES », notamment.