Lead
Uncontrolled expression of Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) can induce aberrant angiogenesis. We developed a method to ensure sustained but controlled VEGF release by FACS-based purification of transduced adipose tissue-derived mesenchymal stromal cells (ASC).In this study we aim to combine cell-based gene therapy with tissue engineering to generate ASC-based patches capable to promote normal and efficient angiogenesis in the surrounding area..

Lay summary

Title: Engineering of a cell-loaded patch as a controlled VEGF-releasing device to treat cardiac ischemia

Background

Uncontrolled expression of VEGF can induce aberrant angiogenesis. We developed a method to ensure sustained but controlled VEGF release by FACS-based purification of transduced adipose tissue-derived mesenchymal stromal cells (ASC), which could already induce effective vascularization when injected in ischemic myocardium despite the poor cell survival.

In this study we aim to combine cell-based gene therapy with tissue engineering to generate ASC-based patches capable to promote normal and efficient angiogenesis in the surrounding area.

Specific Aims

1. Obtain the proof of principle that VEGF-expressing ASC can reliably induce normal angiogenesis inside and around the engineered patch.        

2. Investigate the role of fresh stromal vascular fraction (SVF) derived cells, as source of endothelial progenitors and pericytic origin cells, in the patch vascularization dynamics and in the stabilization of the vascular networks when co-cultured with ASC expressing either controlled or heterogeneous VEGF levels.

Methods

ASC were transduced with retroviral vectors expressing VEGF164 linked to a FACS-quantifiable cell surface marker (truncated CD8) and a population homogeneously expressing a defined VEGF level (VEGF) was FACS-purified. Patches were generated by culturing cells for 5 days on collagen scaffolds in a perfusion-based bioreactor. Their extrinsic angiogenic potential will be assessed in both subcutaneous and ischemic myocardial nude rat models.

 

Potential significance of the results

The proposed project is expected to provide (1) a basic proof-of-principle to use a cell-based angiogenic factor release system for promoting vascularization, (2) insights of the angiogenic dynamics in vivo and will elucidate the role of SVF in the vascularization process.

Lead
Unkontrollierte Expression von Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) induzieren können abweichende Angiogenese. Wir entwickelten eine Methode, um sicherzustellen, gesteuert VEGF-Freisetzung durch FACS-basierte Reinigung von transduzierten Fettgewebe gewonnene mesenchymale Stromazellen (ASC).Wir wollen zell-basierte Gentherapie mit Tissue Engineering zu kombinieren, um ASC-basierten Patches in der Lage, normale und effiziente Angiogenese in der Umgebung zu fördern generieren.

Lay summary

Titel: Planung einer Zelle geladenen Patch als kontrollierte VEGF-Releasing-Gerät, um kardiale Ischämie zu behandeln

 Hintergrund

Unkontrollierte Expression von VEGF induzieren können abweichende Angiogenese. Wir entwickelten eine Methode, um sicherzustellen, erlitten aber gesteuert VEGF-Freisetzung durch FACS-basierte Reinigung von transduzierten Fettgewebe gewonnene mesenchymale Stromazellen (ASC). In dieser Studie wollen wir zell-basierte Gentherapie mit Tissue Engineering zu kombinieren, um ASC-basierten Patches in der Lage, normale und effiziente Angiogenese in der Umgebung zu fördern generieren.

 Spezifische Ziele

1. Besorgen Sie sich die proof of principle, dass VEGF-Expression ASC zuverlässig induzieren normalen Angiogenese im und um das engineered Patch.
2. Untersuchung der Rolle von frischem Stromazellen vaskulären Fraktion (SVF) abgeleitete Zellen als Quelle von endothelialen Vorläuferzellen und Perizyten Ursprungs-Zellen, in der Patch-Vaskularisierung Dynamik und in der Stabilisierung der Blutgefäßnetze wenn mit ASC co-kultiviert werden, die entweder gesteuert oder heterogenen VEGF.

Methoden

ASC wurden mit retroviralen Vektoren, VEGF164 verbunden mit einem FACS-quantifizierbaren Zelloberflächenmarker und einer Bevölkerung homogen Expression eines VEGF-Ebene definiert (VEGF) transduziert war FACS-gereinigt. Patches wurden durch Kultivieren von Zellen auf Kollagen Biomaterial in einer Perfusions-basierten Bioreaktor erzeugt. Die extrinsische angiogene Potential sowohl subkutane und ischämischen Myokard Nacktratte Modelle beurteilt werden.

 Mögliche Bedeutung der Ergebnisse

Das vorgeschlagene Projekt wird erwartet, um (1) eine grundlegende proof-of-principle einen Zell-basierten angiogenen Faktor Release-System zur Förderung der Durchblutung zu verwenden, (2) Erkenntnisse der Angiogenese in vivo Dynamik und wird die Rolle des SVF in der Aufklärung Vaskularisierung Prozess.