Lead
For many patients with end-stage organ diseases, transplantation is the only option for survival and to improve quality of life. Despite many advances, transplantation has remained one of the very challenging fields in modern medicine and the success of the individual is determined by the complex interplay of biomedical, psychosocial and care-related factors. Better understanding of post-transplantation outcome and improvement of quality of care are therefore of large interest.

Lay summary

The Swiss Transplant Cohort Study (STCS)

The Swiss Transplant Cohort Study (STCS)

The Swiss Transplant Cohort Study (STCS)

Lead

For many patients with end-stage organ diseases, transplantation is the only option for survival and to improve quality of life. Despite many advances, transplantation has remained one of the very challenging fields in modern medicine and the success of the individual is determined by the complex interplay of biomedical, psychosocial and care-related factors. Better understanding of post-transplantation outcome and improvement of quality of care are therefore of large interest.

Aim

In 2007, investigators from different disciplines launched the Swiss Transplant Cohort Study (STCS), a multicenter study designed to follow all organ recipients in Switzerland. The STCS was built to foster novel developments in the fields of transplant infectious diseases, psychosocial factors, genetics, immunology and oncology. Further aims are reporting of long-term outcome on the national level and to allow for international benchmarking.

From May 2008 until end of 2012, 2122 transplant patients were enrolled into the STCS and more than 50 scientific projects approved.

Scientific and societal context of the research project

In Switzerland, round 300-400 solid organ transplantations are performed per year in six transplant centers. Transplantation medicine is a multidisciplinary field of highly complex and resource-intensive patient care with a high need for patient-centered research and societal transparency. The STCS has evolved as a role model of research in highly specialized medicine and unified specialists to harmonize patient care. National and international experts benefit from the bio-bank and high-quality clinical data for science and development.  The reporting on patient-relevant outcomes has brought transparency into the Swiss transplant patient population and it is expected that this open information policy will additionally improve quality of care.

Lead
Oft ist eine Organtransplantation die letzte Möglichkeit, Patienten mit terminalem Organversagen zu retten. Die Transplantationsmedizin hat in den letzten Jahre grosse Fortschritte gemacht, bleibt aber für Patienten und Ärzte eine grosse Herausforderung. Der Erfolg für das Individuum ist bestimmt durch das komplexe Zusammenspiel aus bio-medizinischen, psychosozialen und behandlungs-bezogenen Faktoren. Das Verständnis der Erfolgsfaktoren ist daher von grossem Interesse.

Lay summary

Die Schweizerische Transplantations Kohortenstudie (STCS)

Lead

Oft ist eine Organtransplantation die letzte Möglichkeit, Patienten mit terminalem Organversagen zu retten. Die Transplantationsmedizin hat in den letzten Jahre grosse Fortschritte gemacht, bleibt aber für Patienten und Ärzte eine grosse Herausforderung. Der Erfolg für das Individuum ist bestimmt durch das komplexe Zusammenspiel aus bio-medizinischen, psychosozialen und behandlungs-bezogenen Faktoren. Das Verständnis der Erfolgsfaktoren ist daher von grossem Interesse.

Inhalt und Ziel des Forschungsprojektes

Im Jahre 2007 haben Forscher aus verschiedenen Disziplinen die Schweizerische Transplantations Kohortenstudie (STCS) ins Leben gerufen. Die STCS ist eine Multizenterstudie, die für die Nachbeobachtung von Organempfängern in der Schweiz entwickelt wurde. Die Ziele der STCS sind, Forschung und Entwicklung im Bereich transplantationsbedingter Infektionskrankheiten, Genetik, Immunologie, Onkologie und psychosozialer Faktoren zu fördern. Zudem sollen Langzeitresultate veröffentlicht und internationalen verglichen werden. 

Seit Mai 2008 ist die STCS operativ tätig und hat bis Ende 2012 2122 Transplantatempfänger eingeschlossen und über 50 Forschungsprojekte gutgeheissen.

Wissenschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Kontext des Forschungsprojektes

In der Schweiz werden jährlich in 6 Zentren bis zu 400 Transplantationen durchgeführt. In den letzten Jahren hat sich die STCS als Forschungsinstrument in der hochspezialisierten und multidisziplinären Patientenversorgung etabliert. Ein Kernbestandteil sind Expertengremien, die laufend an der Harmonisierung der Versorgungskonzepte arbeiten. National und international profitieren Experten von Bio-Proben und qualitativ hochwertigen Daten für die patienten-zentrierte Forschung. Zudem macht das öffentliche Reporting der Transplantationsergebnisse die  Behandlungserfolge transparent. Es wird erwartet, dass dieser Schritt zusätzlich zu einer Verbesserung der Versorgungsqualität führt.