Lead
Selects is a research project embedded in different Swiss universities. The project started in 1995 to connect Swiss electoral research to the state of the art at the international level. The Selects project created a series of datasets around the national elections between 1995 and 2011. Each election year innovative new questions and additional data collections were incorporated. The data have been widely used for scientific research and several PhD theses have been written on Selects data.

Lay summary

Around the 2011 elections the Swiss Electoral Studies (Selects) produced various datasets which are all publically available for scientific research by 2012. Those datasets include a post-election telephone survey among 4391 Swiss citizens resident in Switzerland, a pre-election rolling cross section telephone survey (RCS) with 4001 interview, about 100 a day during 41 days before the election, an online/paper candidate survey of about 20 pages among all the 3547 candidates for the national council and the council of states, of which 1676 (47%) participated, an online survey among the Swiss living abroad with 1629 interviews as well as a media content analysis, covering 20 daily and weekly newspaper as well as 8 online news sites with 1923 coded articles. A large number of administrative data has also been collected which allows for methodological research.

Thematic and methodological research will be a central activity of the project phase 2013. A call for paper will be launched for a special issue of the Swiss political Science review on the 2011 elections. To increase the international visibility of the Select project, a special issue on the Swiss Elections 2011 will also be proposed to an international journal with a focus on the effects of the institutional variation of Swiss national elections on voting behaviour. A section proposal for the ECPR General Conference 2013 in Bordeaux “Political elites in Electoral Democracies” with 5-8 panels and 15-30 papers shall gather research around the comparative candidate survey project. The PhD students continue their PhD research and will work on several papers.

A second activity will be the preparation and of various secondary datasets. This includes an updated cumulative data set with all Swiss data on voting behaviour 1971- 2011, the data set for the COST Action “The true European Voter” project and the data files for the Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES) and the Comparative Candidate Survey (CCS).

Lead
Das Wahlforschungsprojekt Selects ist in mehrere Schweizer Universitäten eingebettet. Das Projekt begann 1995 mit dem Ziel, die Schweizer Wahlforschung an den internationalen Stand anzupassen. Im Rahmen von Selects werden seither bei allen Wahlen Daten zum Wahlverhalten erhoben, die frei zugänglich sind. Bei jeder Wahl werden neue innovative Komponenten und Fragestellungen eingebaut. Die Daten wurden bereits für viele Publikationen und mehrere Doktorarbeiten verwendet.

Lay summary

Im Rahmen der Wahlstudie 2011 der Swiss Electoral Studies (Selects) wurden verschiedene Daten erhoben, welche alle seit 2012 für Forschungszwecke frei zugänglich sind. Diese beinhalten eine telefonische Nachwahlbefragung bei 4391 Stimmberechtigten in der Schweiz, eine telefonische rolling-cross section (RCS) Studie bei der 4001 Interview während 41 Tagen vor den Wahlen durchgeführt wurden, eine schriftliche/online Befragung von ungefähr 20 Seiten unter allen 3547 Kandidierenden für den National- und Ständerat, von denen 1676 (47%) auch mitgemacht haben, eine Befragung von 1629 Auslandschweizerinnen und Auslandschweizern sowie eine Medieninhaltsanalyse bei 20 Tageszeitungen und 8 online Portalen mit 1923 codierten Artikeln. Zudem wurden administrative Daten über die Durchführung der Befragungen erhoben um damit Methodenforschung zu betreiben.

Thematische Forschung und Methodenforschung werden im Zentrum der Aktivitäten der Projektphase 2013 stehen. Ein call for papers für eine Sonderausgabe der Schweizerischen Zeitschrift für Politikwissenschaft wird lanciert werden. Um die internationale Sichtbarkeit zu erhöhen werden wir zudem ein Sonderband einer internationalen Zeitschrift vorschlagen mit dem Fokus auf die Effekte der institutionellen Varianz in der Schweiz auf das Wahlverhalten. Im Rahmen der ECPR General Conference in Bordeaux 2013 werden wir eine Sektion zu „Political elites in Electoral Democracies“ mit 5-8 panels und 15-30 papers organisieren, mit Ergebnissen aus verschiedene Kandidatenstudien aus Europa. Die Doktoranden werden zudem an ihren Doktorarbeiten und verschiedene papers arbeiten.

2013 werden auch verschieden vergleichende Datensätze produziert. So der kumulative Datensatz der alle verfügbaren Wahlnachbefragungen zwischen 1971 und 2011 erfasst sowie die Daten für die COST Action “The true European Voter” und die Schweizer Daten für die „Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES)“ und den „Comparative Candidate Survey (CCS)“.