Lead
The lack of a balance between gains and losses makes it difficult to reach sensible solutions both for development planning and for soil protection. St├ęphane Nahrath and his team are analysing the mechanisms that lead to economic and ecological gains and losses. The team will be testing various burden balancing instruments for effectiveness, and will compare and test them in three case study areas.

Lay summary

Development planning measures often create economic gains and losses, for example through zoning and out-zoning of areas or through use restrictions on soils under stress. More sustainable management of the soil can be achieved by way of compensation mechanisms, that is to say through the balancing of these gains and losses. This applies both in terms of quantity (urban sprawl versus urban concentration) and of quality (maintaining soil functions).

The project will analyse the mechanisms that lead to the creation of gains and losses, as well as the relationship between gains and losses, for example, whether the gains are greater than losses for a given measure. Conurbations, tourist centres and periurban areas in Switzerland will be the areas studied. The areas included will therefore be those that are under greatest pressure with regard to sustainable soil management. In addition, as comprehensive as possible a record of the economic and fiscal instruments that will redistribute the economic and ecological gains and losses will be drawn up. The effectiveness of these instruments is to be tested and compared via various scenarios in three case study areas – Lausanne (conurbation), Gstaad-Pays-d’Enhaut (tourist region) and Glarus (periurban area).

Based on these case studies, recommendations will be drawn up for the use of the instruments in the field of development planning and in soil protection, as well as for the structuring of the soil market.

Lead
L’absence ou la faiblesse de compensation des plus-values et moins-values, constituent souvent un obstacle à l’adoption de solutions tant dans le domaine de l’aménagement du territoire que de la protection qualitative des sols. Avec son équipe, Stéphane Nahrath analyse les mécanismes de formation des plus-values et moins-values économiques et écologiques. L’équipe étudie l’efficacité des différents instruments de compensation des charges, les compare et les expérimente dans trois zones d’étude.

Lay summary

Les mesures d’aménagement du territoire et de protection des sols créent généralement des plus-values et moins-values économiques et écologiques, par exemple en cas de classement et de déclassement de zones ou de restrictions d’utilisation des sols pollués. Le projet analyse dans quelle mesure et à quelles conditions les mécanismes de compensation permettent la mise en place d’une gestion plus durable du sol, tant sur le plan quantitatif (mitage et densification) que qualitatif (préservation des fonctions du sol).

Le projet analyse les mécanismes de formation des plus-values et moins-values du sol, ainsi que leur rapport réciproque: une mesure d’aménagement crée-t-elle plus de plus-values ou de moins-values qu’une autre ? Les régions étudiées sont les agglomérations, les centres touristiques et les régions à caractère rural (périurbaines) de Suisse, c’est-à-dire les régions dans lesquelles la pression en faveur d’une gestion durable du sol est la plus forte. Par ailleurs, le projet doit dresser une liste aussi complète que possible des instruments économiques et fiscaux qui permettent une compensation des charges entre les plus-values et les moins-values économiques et écologiques. L’efficacité de ces instruments est expérimentée et comparée dans trois zones d’étude – Lausanne (agglomération), Gstaad-Pays-d’Enhaut (région touristique) et Glaris (zone périurbaine) – à travers différents scénarios.

Des recommandations concernant l’utilisation des instruments dans le domaine de l’aménagement du territoire et de la protection des sols, mais aussi de l’organisation du marché foncier, sont formulées à partir des études de cas.