Lead
Groundwater shortage due to climate change? Groundwater plays a major role for water supply in Switzerland. How does climate change affect different groundwater resources? What are the consequences for water supply?

Lay summary
Background
Approximately 80% of our drinking water comes from groundwater, which also ensures a minimal stream flow during dry periods. Groundwater is formed by precipitation and river water seeping into the underground. In future, less precipitation is to be expected during the summer, but more in the winter. In addition, some rivers will carry less meltwater during the summer due to glacier retreat.

Objectives and methods
We want to understand what effects these changes will have on different groundwater resources in Switzerland. Potential longer dry spells will be of particular interest. It is to be expected that during the dry summer months, the available water volume will diminish. As the need is highest during this period, this could lead to local water shortages. Particularly small groundwater resources could dry up quickly. Large resources however can store the precipitation which will, in future, increase during the winter. During the following dry spells, this groundwater will then feed rivers, on the one hand, and can be used as a water supply on the other. In order to better understand this relationship, climate predictions and hydrological regime models will be combined.

Significance
Groundwater is the most important source of drinking water in Switzerland. We need a sound decision-making basis and knowledge on the future effects of global change, so that the water supply can be secured on a long-term basis. This study makes it possible to identify sites with only small available water volumes, so that measures can be taken in good time.

Lead
Pénurie d’eau souterraine due au changement climatique? L’eau souterraine joue un rôle primordial dans l’approvisionnement en eau de la Suisse. Comment le changement climatique se répercute-t-il sur différents gisements d’eau souterraine? Quelles en sont les conséquences sur l’approvisionnement en eau?

Lay summary

Contexte
Environ 80% de notre eau potable provient de l’eau souterraine. Elle assure également un écoulement fluvial minimal en périodes de sécheresse. L’eau souterraine est formée par les précipitations et par l’eau fluviale s’infiltrant dans le terrain. A l’avenir, il faut s’attendre à moins de précipitations en été, mais davantage en hiver. De plus, dans le futur, certaines rivières transporteront moins d’eau de fonte en raison du recul des glaciers.

But
Le but du projet est la compréhension de ces changements sur les différents gisements d’eau souterraine en Suisse. Une attention particulière est prêtée à d’éventuelles périodes prolongées de sécheresse. Il est en effet à prévoir que le volume d’eau disponible pendant les mois secs de l’été diminuera. Comme le besoin en eau atteint son maximum pendant cette période, cela peut conduire à des pénuries locales d’eau. Les petits gisements d’eau souterraine, en particulier, pourraient tarir très rapidement. De plus grands gisements peuvent par contre faire office de réservoir: ils accumulent les précipitations, à l’avenir plus fréquentes en hiver. Durant les périodes de sécheresse qui suivent, cette eau souterraine alimente d’une part les rivières; elle peut d’autre part être utilisée pour l’approvisionnement en eau. La combinaison de prévisions climatiques et de modèles de régime hydrologique améliorera la compréhension de ces relations.

Portée
L’eau souterraine est la source la plus importante d’eau potable en Suisse. Afin d’assurer à long terme l’approvisionnement en eau, il est nécessaire d’avoir des bases de décision et des connaissances fondées au sujet des effets du changement global. Cette étude permet d’identifier les sites à faible quantité d’eau disponible, afin de prendre des mesures en temps voulu.