Lead
Karstic waters, a water resource for the future? How can groundwater resources be sustainably managed in karstic regions such as the Jura or the Prealps, while the climate changes, the exploitation of the soil through agriculture and urbanization increases and the use of the underground in itself becomes more diversified (drinking water, geothermal applications, various infrastructures)?

Lay summary
Background
With a reserve of 120 km3 and an annual resource of 6 to 8 km3, the karstic aquifers represent approximately 80% of the reserve and 50% of the groundwater resources in Switzerland. And yet, karstic aquifers present characteristics that are very different from those of other types of aquifers. Also, they are not well known in Switzerland, because there are no maps or documents that describe them systematically.
What effects will the following points have on karstic aquifers?
- Climate changes which progressively induce an adaptation of our drinking water supply system.
- Tunnel drilling, various borings (for example for the exploitation of heat from the underground).
- Water prospecting for power production.
- Infiltration of fresh water in more or less controlled quantity and quality.

Objectives and methods
The aim of this project is to establish a national inventory of the karstic aquifers. A pragmatic and practically-oriented documentation concept is being elaborated. The approach will combine three-dimensional models with geological and hydrological data. Various actual instances of use will also be taken into account, so that the concept can be adapted to practical needs and usage conflicts. In this way, information on a national scale can be put together, analyzed and compared, at least at the level of the large karstic aquifers.

Significance
Sustainable karstic aquifer management is only conceivable if a certain balance can be achieved between the different exploitation forms and the natural functioning of this particular system. The results of the project build a useful basis that can be directly applied to the management of the underground karstic waters in Switzerland. They will be made available to administrations, stakeholders from the private sector (e.g. hydroelectric companies) as well as the general public.

Lead
Karstwasser, eine Wasserressource für die Zukunft? Wie können Grundwasservorkommen in Karstregionen wie dem Jura oder den Voralpen nachhaltig bewirtschaftet werden, unter Bedingungen von Klimawandel, erhöhter Ausbeutung des Bodens durch Landwirtschaft und Urbanisierung und einer vielfältigeren Nutzung des Untergrundes selbst (Trinkwasser, Geothermie, verschiedene Infrastrukturen)?

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Mit 120 km3 Wasserreserve und 6 bis 8 km3/Jahr an jährlichem Wasservorrat stellen die Karstaquiferen in der Schweiz etwa 80% der Wasserreserve und 50% des Grundwasservorrats dar. Karstaquiferen haben Eigenschaften, die sich wesentlich von denen anderer Aquiferen unterscheiden und sind in der Schweiz kaum untersucht: Es gibt weder Karten noch Studien, die Karstaquiferen systematisch beschreiben.
Welche Auswirkungen werden folgende Entwicklungen auf Karstaquiferen haben?
- Klimaveränderungen, die zunehmend eine Anpassung unseres Trinkwasserversorgungssystems erfordern.
- Tunnelbau, verschiedene Bohrungen (zum Beispiel für die Nutzung von Wärme aus dem Untergrund).
- Suche nach Wasser zur Elektrizitätsproduktion.
- Die Infiltrierung mit Sauberwasser von mehr oder weniger kontrollierter Quantität und Qualität.

Ziel
Ziel dieses Projektes ist die Etablierung eines nationalen Inventars der Karstaquiferen. Eine pragmatische, praxisorientierte Dokumentation wird ausgearbeitet. Der methodische Ansatz kombiniert dreidimensionale Modelle mit geologischen und hydrologischen Daten. Verschiedene reale Nutzungsbeispiele werden ebenfalls berücksichtigt, um das Konzept an Bedürfnisse aus der Praxis und an Nutzungskonflikte anpassen zu können. Auf diese Weise kann Information auf nationaler Ebene gebündelt werden, mindestens auf dem Niveau der grossen Karstaquiferen.

Bedeutung
Die Resultate dieses Projektes stellen eine nützliche Basis dar, um Karstaquifere nachhaltig zu bewirtschaften. Dies ist nur denkbar, wenn ein Gleichgewicht zwischen den verschiedenen Nutzungsformen einerseits und der natürlichen Funktion dieses Systems andererseits erreicht werden kann. Die Resultate werden sowohl staatlichen Stellen als auch interessierten Kreisen aus der Privatwirtschaft (z. B. Elektrizitätswirtschaft) und der Allgemeinheit zugänglich gemacht.