Lead
Karstic waters, a water resource for the future? How can groundwater resources be sustainably managed in karstic regions such as the Jura or the Prealps, while the climate changes, the exploitation of the soil through agriculture and urbanization increases and the use of the underground in itself becomes more diversified (drinking water, geothermal applications, various infrastructures)?

Lay summary
Background
With a reserve of 120 km3 and an annual resource of 6 to 8 km3, the karstic aquifers represent approximately 80% of the reserve and 50% of the groundwater resources in Switzerland. And yet, karstic aquifers present characteristics that are very different from those of other types of aquifers. Also, they are not well known in Switzerland, because there are no maps or documents that describe them systematically.
What effects will the following points have on karstic aquifers?
- Climate changes which progressively induce an adaptation of our drinking water supply system.
- Tunnel drilling, various borings (for example for the exploitation of heat from the underground).
- Water prospecting for power production.
- Infiltration of fresh water in more or less controlled quantity and quality.

Objectives and methods
The aim of this project is to establish a national inventory of the karstic aquifers. A pragmatic and practically-oriented documentation concept is being elaborated. The approach will combine three-dimensional models with geological and hydrological data. Various actual instances of use will also be taken into account, so that the concept can be adapted to practical needs and usage conflicts. In this way, information on a national scale can be put together, analyzed and compared, at least at the level of the large karstic aquifers.

Significance
Sustainable karstic aquifer management is only conceivable if a certain balance can be achieved between the different exploitation forms and the natural functioning of this particular system. The results of the project build a useful basis that can be directly applied to the management of the underground karstic waters in Switzerland. They will be made available to administrations, stakeholders from the private sector (e.g. hydroelectric companies) as well as the general public.

Lead
Les eaux karstiques, une ressource hydrique pour le futur? Comment gérer durablement les ressources en eau souterraine dans les régions karstiques comme le Jura et les Préalpes alors que le climat change, que l’agriculture et l’urbanisation intensifient l’exploitation du sol et que l’utilisation du sous-sol lui-même se diversifie (eau potable, géothermie, infrastructures diverses)?

Lay summary

Contexte
Avec 120 km3 de réserve et 6 à 8 km3/an de ressource annuelle, les aquifères karstiques représentent en Suisse environ 80% de la réserve et 50% de la ressource en eau souterraine du pays. Or les aquifères karstiques présentent des caractéristiques bien distinctes des autres types d’aquifères et ils sont mal connus en Suisse, puisqu’aucune carte ou document ne les décrit de manière systématique.
Quels effets sur les aquifères karstiques auront donc:
- les changements climatiques qui exigent une adaptation progressive de notre système d’alimentation en eau potable,
- le percement de tunnels, de forages divers (par exemple pour l’exploitation de chaleur du sous-sol),
- la recherche d’eau pour la production d’électricité,
- l’infiltration d’eaux claires en quantité et qualité plus ou moins contrôlée?

But
Le présent projet vise à préparer un inventaire national des aquifères karstiques. Un concept de documentation pragmatique et orienté vers la pratique est en cours d'élaboration. L’approche mêlera modèles en trois dimensions, données géologiques et hydrologiques. Différents cas réels d’utilisation seront aussi pris en considération afin d’ajuster le concept aux besoins de la pratique et aux conflits d’usage. Ainsi, une documentation pourra être établie à l’échelle nationale, au moins au niveau des grands aquifères karstiques.

Portée
La gestion durable des aquifères karstiques n’est envisageable que si un certain équilibre peut être trouvé entre les diverses formes d’exploitation et le fonctionnement naturel de ce système particulier. Les résultats du projet constitueront une base utile et directement utilisable pour la gestion des eaux souterraines karstiques suisses. Ils seront mis à la disposition des administrations, des intervenants privés (p.ex. compagnies d’hydroélectricité) et du public.