Lead
Understanding how climate change is affecting groundwater Climate change is likely to influence the temperature of groundwater, thereby affecting many biological and chemical aspects of groundwater quality. The influence of climate and climate change on groundwater temperature is analysed using historical data from the recent past.

Lay summary
Background
Groundwater is especially important in Switzerland as it supplies 80% of the country's drinking water. We know that climate change is influencing water quality in lakes and rivers, but we have very little information on its effect on groundwater quality. Comparison of fluctuations in regional climate in the recent past with fluctuations in groundwater temperature helps us to understand how climate change might affect groundwater. Groundwater temperature is especially important in this context because many biological and chemical aspects of groundwater quality are temperature-dependent.

Aim and methods
The aim of this project is to find out how regional climate change, which is occurring especially rapidly in the European Alpine region, is influencing groundwater variables like temperature, water level and oxygen concentration. Long-term historical data from groundwater in Switzerland will be collected and analysed using the statistical methods of time-series analysis. This will allow the extent to which different types of groundwater in Switzerland are changing in response to climate change to be determined.

Significance
Very little information is available nationally or internationally that shows how different types of groundwater respond to climate change. It is important to know this, however, because future management decisions with respect to our water resources must take into account the impact of climate change.

Lead
Einfluss des Klimawandels auf das Grundwasser Der Klimawandel wird wahrscheinlich Temperaturänderungen im Grundwasser bewirken und damit viele biologische und chemische Aspekte der Grundwasserqualität beeinflussen. Mithilfe historischer Daten aus der jüngeren Vergangenheit wird der Einfluss von Klima und Klimawandel auf die Grundwassertemperatur analysiert.

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Das Grundwasser ist in der Schweiz von besonderer Bedeutung, weil es 80% der Trinkwasserreserven des Landes darstellt. Wir wissen, dass der Klimawandel die Wasserqualität in Seen und Flüssen beeinflusst, aber wissen wenig über dessen Effekte auf die Grundwasserqualität. Der Vergleich von Veränderungen des regionalen Klimas mit Veränderungen der entsprechenden Grundwassertemperatur hilft, den Einfluss von Klimaveränderungen auf das Grundwasser zu verstehen. In diesem Kontext ist die Temperatur des Grundwassers besonders relevant, weil viele biologische und chemische Aspekte der Grundwasserqualität temperaturabhängig sind.

Ziel
Ziel des Projektes ist es, den Einfluss von regionalen Klimaveränderungen, welche besonders in der europäischen alpinen Region rasch erfolgen, auf Parameter des Untergrundwassers wie Temperatur, Wasserhöhe und Sauerstoffkonzentration zu untersuchen. Historische Daten, die einen langen Zeitraum abdecken, werden gesammelt und mithilfe der statistischen Methodik der Zeitreihenanalyse ausgewertet. So kann das Ausmass der Veränderung der verschiedenen Grundwassertypen der Schweiz als Folge des Klimawandels bestimmt werden.

Bedeutung
Sowohl auf nationaler als auch auf internationaler Ebene ist kaum bekannt, wie die verschiedenen Grundwassertypen auf Klimaveränderungen reagieren. Diese Einsichten sind jedoch von zentraler Bedeutung, da die zukünftige Bewirtschaftung unserer Wasserressourcen den Einfluss der Klimaveränderung berücksichtigen muss.