Lead
Understanding how climate change is affecting groundwater Climate change is likely to influence the temperature of groundwater, thereby affecting many biological and chemical aspects of groundwater quality. The influence of climate and climate change on groundwater temperature is analysed using historical data from the recent past.

Lay summary
Background
Groundwater is especially important in Switzerland as it supplies 80% of the country's drinking water. We know that climate change is influencing water quality in lakes and rivers, but we have very little information on its effect on groundwater quality. Comparison of fluctuations in regional climate in the recent past with fluctuations in groundwater temperature helps us to understand how climate change might affect groundwater. Groundwater temperature is especially important in this context because many biological and chemical aspects of groundwater quality are temperature-dependent.

Aim and methods
The aim of this project is to find out how regional climate change, which is occurring especially rapidly in the European Alpine region, is influencing groundwater variables like temperature, water level and oxygen concentration. Long-term historical data from groundwater in Switzerland will be collected and analysed using the statistical methods of time-series analysis. This will allow the extent to which different types of groundwater in Switzerland are changing in response to climate change to be determined.

Significance
Very little information is available nationally or internationally that shows how different types of groundwater respond to climate change. It is important to know this, however, because future management decisions with respect to our water resources must take into account the impact of climate change.

Lead
Comprendre les effets du changement climatique sur les eaux souterraines Il est bien possible que le changement climatique influence la température de l’eau souterraine, et que ce phénomène ait des conséquences sur de nombreux aspects biologiques et chimiques de la qualité de cette eau. L’influence du climat et du changement climatique sur la température des eaux souterraines est analysée à l’aide de données historiques du passé récent.

Lay summary

Contexte
L’eau souterraine est particulièrement importante en Suisse, où elle fournit 80% de l’eau potable du pays. Nous savons que le changement climatique influence la qualité de l’eau des lacs et rivières, mais nous n’avons que très peu d’informations concernant son influence sur la qualité de l’eau souterraine. Une comparaison des fluctuations récentes du climat régional avec les fluctuations des températures de l’eau souterraine nous aide à comprendre comment le changement climatique pourrait influencer l’eau souterraine. La température de l’eau souterraine est particulièrement importante dans ce contexte, car de nombreux aspects biologiques et chimiques de la qualité de cette eau en dépendent.

But
Le but de ce projet est de découvrir comment le changement climatique régional, particulièrement rapide dans la région alpine européenne, influence les variables de l’eau souterraine, telles que la température, le niveau de l’eau et la concentration en oxygène. Les données historiques sur une longue période seront récoltées et analysées à l’aide de méthodes statistiques d’analyses de séries chronologiques. Ceci permet de déterminer l’étendue des changements des différents types d’eau souterraine en Suisse, en réponse au changement climatique.

Portée
Il existe très peu d’informations à un niveau national ou international illustrant comment les différents types d’eau souterraine réagissent au changement climatique. Ces connaissances sont toutefois importantes, car les décisions futures en matière de gestion de nos ressources en eau doivent tenir compte de son effet.