Lead
Towards integrative water governance Water is one of the most valuable natural resources provided by our environment. Man exploits water, distributes and treats it and has to avert floods. Sustainable water management, in terms of a task of prime importance in politics and society, attracts widely diverging interests that need to be optimized.

Lay summary
 
Background
Current and future demands on water, but also changes in the environment can lead to problems. It is important to maintain a proper balance between society’s needs, the ecological demands and the securing of resources. Different institutions driven by different objectives and rules have taken up this challenge. Thus, there is a need for improved cooperation and networking in water sectors such as supply, disposal, prevention of water pollution, power production and flood protection. An integrative approach, including the different players and allowing for collective learning, is necessary for sustainable water management.

Objectives and methods
The project examines what an integrative Swiss water policy might look like. It assesses how water sectors can collaborate and how they can be suitably steered. The following aspects, which are important for the water management, prevention of water pollution and flood protection sectors, will be taken into account: geographic area, legal and political competences, organizational structures and the management of these sectors. Institutions and stakeholders will be involved in the research by means of workshops and focus groups. Strategies and instruments suitable for the support of the transition from a sectorial to an integrative water policy will also be suggested.

Significance
The project promotes an intensified collaboration and coordination between water sectors, by involving the relevant players in the research. Concepts for improved collaboration in water management as well as implementation guidelines will be elaborated together with representatives of the life and engineering sciences, of the authorities and associations and of environmental and consumer groups

Lead
Vers une politique intégrative de l’eau L’eau est une des ressources les plus précieuses que met à disposition notre environnement. L’homme exploite l’eau, la distribue et la purifie. Il doit également combattre les inondations. La gestion durable de l’eau, en tant que tâche prioritaire de la politique et de la société, se heurte à des intérêts fortement divergents qu’il s’agit d’optimiser.

Lay summary
Contexte
Les exigences actuelles et futures envers l’eau ainsi que les changements environnementaux peuvent conduire à des problèmes. Il s’agit de maintenir l’équilibre entre les besoins de la société, les exigences écologiques et la garantie des ressources. Ces défis ont été reconnus par diverses institutions poursuivant des objectifs variés et obéissant à des règles différentes. De ce fait, il est nécessaire d’améliorer la collaboration et la mise en réseau des différents secteurs de l’eau, tels que l’approvisionnement, l’élimination des eaux usées, la protection des eaux et la protection contre les crues. Une utilisation durable de l’eau nécessite une approche intégrative, réunissant les divers acteurs et rendant possible un apprentissage commun.

But
Le projet s’intéresse à ce que pourrait être une future politique intégrative de l’eau en Suisse. Il détermine des possibilités de collaboration entre les secteurs de l’eau, et la manière dont ces secteurs pourraient être dirigés. Il prendra en considération les aspects suivants, qui se révèlent importants pour les secteurs de gestion de l’eau, de protection des eaux et de protection contre les crues: le territoire géographique, les compétences juridiques et politiques, les structures des organisations et la gestion de ces secteurs. Les institutions et les acteurs sont intégrés dans la recherche à l’aide d’ateliers et de groupes de discussion. Des stratégies et des instruments pouvant servir à soutenir la transition d’une politique de l’eau sectorielle à une politique intégrative seront également proposées.

Portée
Le projet encourage une collaboration intensifiée et la coordination entre les secteurs de l’eau, en intégrant les acteurs appropriés dans la recherche. Des concepts pour une collaboration améliorée dans la gestion de l’eau ainsi que des directives pour la mise en pratique seront développés conjointement avec des représentants des sciences naturelles et des sciences de l’ingénierie, des autorités et des associations, ainsi que des associations de consommateurs et de protection de l’environnement.