Lead
Is drinking water derived from rivers still clean enough? Almost one third of the groundwater is recharged by river water. River water, sometimes contaminated by wastewater, is cleansed through riverbank filtration. The consequences of the changing climate on riverbank filtration are not yet known. Can drinking water quality be enhanced by means of improved wastewater treatment?

Lay summary
Background
Switzerland’s drinking water is mainly derived from groundwater. Approximately 25-30% of the groundwater comes from river water that has filtered through the riverbanks. Frequently, this is the only barrier that divides wastewater-bearing rivers from drinking water systems. Clean drinking water is therefore directly connected with the chemical, physical and biological purification processes occurring in this zone. Do temperature changes and occasional increases in wastewater effluents interfere with the processes within this infiltration zone? River water often contains significant amounts of wastewater effluents from sewage plants. How does river water composition change when wastewater is better treated before it is discharged into rivers?

Objectives and methods
This project examines climate-induced changes of the infiltration processes of river water into the groundwater. This study will include laboratory experiments as well as field investigations in existing research sites, in order to differentiate between “normal” and climate-induced changes. The results will build a basis for a numerical model which can then be applied to calculate the processes in typical summer and winter situations, as well as in extreme scenarios.

Significance
The project will provide results on the behaviour of riverbank filtration under various climatic conditions. On this basis, the existing water supply through riverbank filtrates can then be assessed. Possible upgrades of water supplies or wastewater treatment will be proposed.

Lead
Von Flüssen gespiesenes Trinkwasser: Noch sauber genug? Fast ein Drittel des Grundwassers wird aus Flusswasser gespiesen. Das manchmal durch Abwasser belastete Flusswasser gelangt über eine Uferfiltration ins Grundwasser. Wie sich der Klimawandel auf diesen Prozess auswirkt ist noch unbekannt. Lässt sich die Qualität des Trinkwassers durch eine verbesserte Abwasserbehandlung erhöhen?

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Das Schweizer Trinkwasser wird vorwiegend aus dem Grundwasser gewonnen. Ungefähr 25-30% des Grundwassers stammen aus Flusswasser, das durch das Gewässerufer infiltriert. Oftmals ist die Uferfiltration die einzige Barriere, die das von Abwasser belastete Flusswasser vom Trinkwasser trennt. Sauberes Trinkwasser hängt deshalb direkt mit den chemischen, physikalischen und biologischen Reinigungsprozessen in dieser Zone zusammen. Werden diese Prozesse in der Infiltrationszone durch veränderte Wassertemperaturen und einem zeitweilig erhöhten Abwasseranteil beeinträchtigt? Flusswasser enthält oftmals beträchtliche Anteile an Abwasser, das aus Kläranlagen stammt. Wie verändert sich die Zusammensetzung des Flusswassers, wenn das Abwasser besser gereinigt in die Flüsse eingeleitet würde?

Ziel
Das Projekt untersucht klimabedingte Veränderungen der Infiltrationsprozesse von Flusswasser ins Grundwasser. In dieser Studie wird mit Labor- und Feldexperimenten an gut instrumentierten Standorten gearbeitet, um so „normale“ Veränderungen von klimabedingten Veränderungen zu unterscheiden. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse bilden die Basis für ein numerisches Modell, mit dem die Prozesse in typischen Sommer- und Wintersituationen sowie Extremszenarien berechnet werden.

Bedeutung
Das Projekt liefert Resultate über das Verhalten der Uferfiltration unter verschiedenen Klimaszenarien. Auf dieser Basis wird die bestehende Wasserversorgung aus Uferfiltrat beurteilt. Allfällige Verbesserungen in der Wasserversorgung oder der Abwasserreinigung werden vorgeschlagen.