Lead
Is drinking water derived from rivers still clean enough? Almost one third of the groundwater is recharged by river water. River water, sometimes contaminated by wastewater, is cleansed through riverbank filtration. The consequences of the changing climate on riverbank filtration are not yet known. Can drinking water quality be enhanced by means of improved wastewater treatment?

Lay summary
Background
Switzerland’s drinking water is mainly derived from groundwater. Approximately 25-30% of the groundwater comes from river water that has filtered through the riverbanks. Frequently, this is the only barrier that divides wastewater-bearing rivers from drinking water systems. Clean drinking water is therefore directly connected with the chemical, physical and biological purification processes occurring in this zone. Do temperature changes and occasional increases in wastewater effluents interfere with the processes within this infiltration zone? River water often contains significant amounts of wastewater effluents from sewage plants. How does river water composition change when wastewater is better treated before it is discharged into rivers?

Objectives and methods
This project examines climate-induced changes of the infiltration processes of river water into the groundwater. This study will include laboratory experiments as well as field investigations in existing research sites, in order to differentiate between “normal” and climate-induced changes. The results will build a basis for a numerical model which can then be applied to calculate the processes in typical summer and winter situations, as well as in extreme scenarios.

Significance
The project will provide results on the behaviour of riverbank filtration under various climatic conditions. On this basis, the existing water supply through riverbank filtrates can then be assessed. Possible upgrades of water supplies or wastewater treatment will be proposed.

Lead
L’eau potable provenant des rivières est-elle encore suffisamment propre? Presqu’un tiers de l’eau souterraine provient des rivières. L’eau fluviale, parfois contaminée par des eaux usées, est filtrée par les berges. Mais on ne sait pas encore comment le changement climatique influence cette filtration sur berge. La qualité de l’eau potable peut-elle être augmentée grâce à un traitement amélioré des eaux usées?

Lay summary

Contexte
L’eau potable suisse est avant tout tirée de l’eau souterraine. Environ 25-30% de l’eau souterraine provient de l’eau fluviale, infiltrée par les berges. Les berges constituent souvent la seule barrière séparant l’eau fluviale, contaminée par des eaux usées, de l’eau potable. La propreté de l’eau potable dépend donc directement des processus de purification chimiques, physiques et biologiques dans cette zone. Des changements de la température de l’eau et une augmentation passagère des eaux usées dans la zone d’infiltration nuisent-ils aux processus qui y ont lieu? L’eau fluviale contient souvent une part considérable en eaux usées provenant de stations d’épuration. Dans quelle mesure la composition de l’eau fluviale change-t-elle lorsque les eaux usées sont mieux traitées, avant d’être déversées dans les rivières?

But
Le projet examine les changements des processus d’infiltration de l’eau fluviale dans les eaux souterraines en réponse aux changements climatiques. Dans cette étude, des expériences en laboratoire et sur le terrain dans des sites de recherche existants sont faites dans le but de distinguer entre des changements «normaux» et des changements dus au climat. Les résultats obtenus serviront de base pour un modèle numérique permettant de calculer les processus typiques de situations estivales et hivernales, ainsi que des situations extrêmes.

Portée
Ce projet fournit des résultats sur le comportement de la filtration sur berge dans différentes conditions climatiques. L’approvisionnement en eau existant, dérivant de ces filtrats, est jugé sur cette base. D’éventuelles améliorations dans l’approvisionnement en eau ou dans l’épuration des eaux seront proposées.