Lead
Shortness of breath and lung damage are key symptoms of severe COVID-19 disease. Many patients also simultaneously experience cardiovascular disease, kidney failure and central nervous system (CNS) disorders. As yet, however, too little is known about the mechanisms underlying the long-term damage caused by COVID-19.

Lay summary

Background

Damage to the cardiovascular system is a significant determining factor of mortality rates among COVID-19 patients. To understand the connections between cardiovascular disease and COVID-19, it is important to elucidate the mechanisms underlying SARS-CoV-2 infection in the cells of the vascular wall. SARS-CoV-2’s key point of entry is a molecule called ACE2, which is found in vascular wall cells in all organs, including the blood-brain barrier and heart muscles. Knowing which cells can be directly infected with SARS-CoV-2 is key to characterising various clinical symptoms and developing new treatments.

Research aims

We will use cell cultures to investigate the effects of SARS-CoV-2 infection in vascular wall cells, including cells in the blood-brain barrier and heart muscles. Once these cells have been infected, we will use gene expression profiling to investigate the immune system’s inflammatory response and virus-induced changes. The more complex effects of SARS-CoV-2 infection that affect the entire body will be researched in zebra fish and mice. Animal experiments will enable us to investigate the entire cardiovascular system and gain a better understanding of COVID-19.

Expected results and envisaged products

The aim of our project is to identify the signal paths that are activated in cases of SARS-CoV-2 infection and to characterise the effects of infection on vessel walls, including the walls of cells in the blood-brain barrier and heart. Our animal models will improve our understanding of the course of the disease and demonstrate the impact of COVID-19 on heart function and its long-term effects on the vascular system. The findings will contribute to efforts to provide specific treatment for excessive inflammation, vascular occlusion and neurological symptoms such as memory disorders and fatigue.

Specific contribution to tackle the current pandemic

Cardiovascular experts from the University of Bern will partner with the world’s leading coronavirus research teams to work on this project. Our approach employs established methods that will enable us to elucidate both the specific and overarching changes in the body’s cells induced by SARS-CoV-2. By doing so, we hope to identify entry points that will pave the way for improved treatment of COVID-19 and effective prevention of lasting damage to the cardiovascular and nervous systems.

Lead
Atemnot und Lungenschäden sind Schlüsselsymptome bei einer schweren COVID-19 Erkrankung. Gleichzeitig leiden viele Patienten auch unter Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, Nierenversagen und Beeinträchtigungen des Zentralnervensystems (ZNS). Die zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen der langfristigen Schädigung durch COVID-19 sind jedoch nur unzureichend verstanden.

Lay summary

Hintergrund

Schädigungen des Herz-Kreislauf-Systems beeinflussen signifikant die Sterblichkeitsrate von COVID-19-Patienten. Um die Zusammenhänge zwischen kardiovaskulären Erkrankungen und COVID-19 zu verstehen, ist es wichtig die zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen der SARS-CoV-2-Infektion in den Zellen der Blutgefässwand zu entschlüsseln. Der wichtigste Eintrittspunkt von SARS-CoV-2 ist ein Molekül namens ACE2, welches auf Zellen der Blutgefässwand in allen Organen, inklusive der Blut-Hirn-Schranke und auf Herzmuskelzellen vorkommt. Für die Charakterisierung verschiedener klinischer Symptome und für die Entwicklung neuer Therapien ist es entscheidend zu wissen, welche Zellen mit SARS-CoV-2 direkt infiziert werden können.

Forschungsziele

Mit Hilfe von Zellkulturen werden wir die Folgen einer SARS-CoV-2-Infektion in Zellen der Blutgefässwand auch jenen der Blut-Hirn-Schranke und den Herzmuskelzellen untersuchen. Nach Infektion dieser Zellen werden wir deren entzündliche Immunantwort und Virus-induzierte Veränderungen anhand ihres Genexpressionsprofils untersuchen. Komplexere, den ganzen Körper betreffende Auswirkungen einer SARS-CoV-2-Infektion werden wir in Zebrafischen und Mäusen erforschen. Tierversuche erlauben uns, das gesamte Herz-Kreislauf-System abzubilden und die Langzeitfolgen von COVID-19 besser zu verstehen.

Erwartete Ergebnisse und Produkte

Unser Projekt hat das Ziel, Signalwege, welche bei SARS-CoV-2-Infektion aktiviert werden, zu identifizieren und die Folgen einer SARS-CoV-2-Infektion auf Gefässwände, inklusive jenen der Blut-Hirn-Schranke, und auf das Herz zu charakterisieren. Unsere Tiermodelle werden das Verständnis über den Krankheitsverlauf verbessern und den Einfluss von COVID-19 auf die Herzfunktion sowie die langfristigen Auswirkungen auf das Gefässsystem aufzeigen. Diese Erkenntnisse werden dazu beitragen übermässige Entzündungen, Blutgefässverschlüsse und neurologische Symptome, wie Erinnerungsstörungen und Müdigkeit, gezielt bekämpfen zu können.

Beitrag zur Bewältigung der aktuellen Pandemie

Das Projekt vereint Herz-Kreislauf-Expertinnen und -Experten der Universität Bern mit den weltweit führenden Teams in der Coronavirus-Forschung. Unsere Zusammenarbeit vereint etablierte Methodik, welche es ermöglichen wird, die durch SARS-CoV-2 induzierten, zellspezifischen und zellübergreifenden Veränderungen im Körper zu entschlüsseln. Dadurch erhoffen wir uns therapeutische Ansatzpunkte zu finden, die zur Verbesserung der Behandlung der COVID-19 Erkrankung und der Verhinderung von Langzeitfolgen im Herz-Kreislauf- oder Nervensystem führen.