Lead
Shortness of breath and lung damage are key symptoms of severe COVID-19 disease. Many patients also simultaneously experience cardiovascular disease, kidney failure and central nervous system (CNS) disorders. As yet, however, too little is known about the mechanisms underlying the long-term damage caused by COVID-19.

Lay summary

Background

Damage to the cardiovascular system is a significant determining factor of mortality rates among COVID-19 patients. To understand the connections between cardiovascular disease and COVID-19, it is important to elucidate the mechanisms underlying SARS-CoV-2 infection in the cells of the vascular wall. SARS-CoV-2’s key point of entry is a molecule called ACE2, which is found in vascular wall cells in all organs, including the blood-brain barrier and heart muscles. Knowing which cells can be directly infected with SARS-CoV-2 is key to characterising various clinical symptoms and developing new treatments.

Research aims

We will use cell cultures to investigate the effects of SARS-CoV-2 infection in vascular wall cells, including cells in the blood-brain barrier and heart muscles. Once these cells have been infected, we will use gene expression profiling to investigate the immune system’s inflammatory response and virus-induced changes. The more complex effects of SARS-CoV-2 infection that affect the entire body will be researched in zebra fish and mice. Animal experiments will enable us to investigate the entire cardiovascular system and gain a better understanding of COVID-19.

Expected results and envisaged products

The aim of our project is to identify the signal paths that are activated in cases of SARS-CoV-2 infection and to characterise the effects of infection on vessel walls, including the walls of cells in the blood-brain barrier and heart. Our animal models will improve our understanding of the course of the disease and demonstrate the impact of COVID-19 on heart function and its long-term effects on the vascular system. The findings will contribute to efforts to provide specific treatment for excessive inflammation, vascular occlusion and neurological symptoms such as memory disorders and fatigue.

Specific contribution to tackle the current pandemic

Cardiovascular experts from the University of Bern will partner with the world’s leading coronavirus research teams to work on this project. Our approach employs established methods that will enable us to elucidate both the specific and overarching changes in the body’s cells induced by SARS-CoV-2. By doing so, we hope to identify entry points that will pave the way for improved treatment of COVID-19 and effective prevention of lasting damage to the cardiovascular and nervous systems.

Lead
Détresse respiratoire et lésions pulmonaires sont des symptômes clés des formes graves du COVID-19. Mais de nombreux patients souffrent aussi de maladies cardiovasculaires, d’insuffisance rénale et d’atteintes du système nerveux central (SNC). On comprend pourtant mal les mécanismes sous-jacents des lésions à long terme entraînées par le COVID-19.

Lay summary

Contexte

Les atteintes du système cardiovasculaire ont une influence significative sur la mortalité des patients COVID-19. Pour comprendre les interactions entre les maladies cardiovasculaires et le COVID-19, il est primordial de déchiffrer les mécanismes sous-jacents de l’infection au SARS-CoV-2 dans les cellules formant les parois des capillaires. Le point d’entrée le plus important du SARS-CoV-2 est la molécule ACE2, présente sur les cellules endothéliales de tous les organes, y compris la barrière hémato-encéphalique, et sur les cellules du myocarde. Pour caractériser différents symptômes cliniques et développer de nouvelles thérapies, il est crucial de connaître les cellules qui peuvent être directement infectées par le SARS-CoV-2.

Objectifs de recherche

Nous étudierons par des cultures cellulaires les conséquences d’une infection par le SARS-CoV-2 dans les cellules endothéliales y compris celles de la barrière hémato-encéphalique, et dans les cellules du myocarde. Une fois infectées, nous examinerons leur réaction immunitaire inflammatoire et les modifications induites par le virus, au moyen de leur profil d’expression génique. Nous étudierons avec des poissons-zèbres et des souris les effets plus complexes, touchant l’organisme entier, d’une infection au SARS-CoV-2. L’expérimentation animale nous permettra d’étudier le système cardiovasculaire dans son ensemble et de mieux comprendre les suites à long terme du COVID-19.

Résultats et produits envisagés

L’objectif de notre projet est d’identifier les voies de signalisation activées par le SARS-CoV-2 et de caractériser les conséquences sur le cœur et sur les vaisseaux, barrière hémato-encéphalique comprise, d’une infection au SARS-CoV-2. Nos modèles animaux amélioreront la compréhension du développement de la maladie et montreront l’influence du COVID-19 sur la fonction cardiaque ainsi que ses effets à long terme sur le système vasculaire. Ces connaissances contribueront à cibler la lutte contre les inflammations excessives, les occlusions vasculaires et les symptômes neurologiques tels que troubles de mémoire et fatigue.

Contribution à la lutte contre la pandémie actuelle

Le projet réunit des spécialistes du système cardiovasculaire de l’Université de Berne et les équipes de pointe mondiales de la recherche sur le coronavirus. Notre collaboration combine des méthodes reconnues qui permettront de déchiffrer les changements cellulaires, spécifiques et plus généraux, induits dans le corps par le SARS-CoV-2. Nous espérons ainsi trouver des amorces d’approches thérapeutiques pour améliorer le traitement du COVID-19 et la prévention des conséquences à long terme sur les systèmes cardiovasculaire et nerveux.