Lead
While molecular imaging agents for positron emission tomography (PET) are essential tools for acquiring a better understanding of a disease, its severity and progression, PET has hardly been used in the current COVID-19 pandemic. We are therefore developing a PET tracer to study the expression dynamics of the virus entry receptor ACE2.

Lay summary

Background

The COVID-19 pandemic shows large variability in disease presentation, progression, and outcome. Until recently, the risk factors that determine disease severity and outcome have been scarcely investigated. Adequate early risk stratification will be essential to avoid overburdening hospitals and intensive care units in view of the current and future generations of SARS-CoV infections. Molecular imaging using PET may serve for risk stratification by assessing the expression and regulation of key disease factors, thereby providing personalised treatment options.

Research aims

It has been suggested that the virus entry receptor ACE2 is responsible for the individual’s susceptibility to infection and disease progression. The aim of this project is to develop a radioligand for non-invasive imaging of ACE2 using PET. It should provide clinicians with a tool to investigate the dynamics of ACE2 expression in relation to age, gender, pre-existing morbidity, medication and environmental factors, and thus enable (early) risk stratification.

Expected results and envisaged products

Successful completion of this research project will deliver a PET agent for non-invasive imaging of ACE2. Such radioligands will aid researchers and clinicians to better understand the expression pattern, function and regulation of ACE2 in the context of COVID-19. An understanding of the dynamics of ACE2 expression in relation to various endogenous and exogenous factors will be essential for the risk management of individual patients in the future. Ultimately, clinicians may thus profit from such a PET agent to assess COVID-19 patients and provide them with individual treatments to prevent severe disease progression and a fatal outcome.

Specific contribution to tackle the current pandemic

The specific contribution of this project to the current pandemic refers to the delivery of a tool that serves for a better understanding of risk factors for severe outcome of COVID-19. Only when we understand the role of ACE2 expression, its dynamics and regulation, will it be possible to address unfavourable conditions in certain population groups by specific interventions and to provide specific treatments for infected patients at risk. Certainly, the understanding of these mechanisms is not limited to SARS-CoV-2 but may also be of value to fight future generations of corona viral infection.

Lead
Die molekulare Bildgebung mittels Positronenemissionstomographie (PET) ist ein wichtiges Instrument, um Krankheiten, ihre Schwere und ihren Verlauf, besser zu verstehen. In der aktuellen Pandemie wird die PET jedoch kaum genutzt. Wir entwickeln daher einen PET-Tracer, um die dynamische Expression des Virusrezeptors ACE2 zu untersuchen.

Lay summary

Hintergrund

COVID-19 zeigt höchst unterschiedliche Krankheitsbilder, -verläufe und -ergebnisse. Bis vor kurzem wurden die Risikofaktoren, die für die Schwere und den Verlauf der Krankheit verantwortlich sind, kaum untersucht. Nur durch eine geeignete, frühe Risikoabschätzung lässt sich jedoch eine Überlastung der Spitäler und Intensivstationen durch aktuelle und zukünftige SARS-CoV-Infektionen vermeiden. Die molekulare Bildgebung mittels PET kann diese Abschätzung unterstützen, indem sie die Expression und Regulierung von Schlüsselstrukturen der Krankheit untersucht.

Forschungsziele

Vermutet wird, dass ACE2 als Eintrittsrezeptor für das Virus die Empfänglichkeit für die Infektion und den Krankheitsverlauf beeinflusst. Ziel dieses Projekts ist es deshalb, einen Radioliganden für die nicht-invasive Bildgebung von ACE2 mittels PET zu entwickeln. Ein solcher Radioligand soll Klinikern als Mittel dienen, die dynamische Expression von ACE2 abhängig von Alter, Geschlecht, Vorerkrankungen, Medikation und Umweltfaktoren zu untersuchen und so eine (frühe) Risikoabschätzung ermöglichen.

Erwartete Ergebnisse und Produkte

Im Erfolgsfall wird im Rahmen dieses Projekts ein neuer PET-Radioligand für die nicht-invasive Bildgebung von ACE2 entwickelt. Dies sollte der klinischen Forschung helfen, das Expressionsmuster, die Funktion und die Regulation des ACE2 im Zusammenhang mit COVID-19 besser zu verstehen. Um das Risiko einzelner Patienten einzudämmen, müssen wir verstehen, wie sich verschiedene innere und äussere Faktoren auf die dynamische Expression von ACE2 auswirken. Kliniker können bei der Beurteilung der mit COVID-19 infizierten Patienten von einem solchen PET-Radioliganden profitieren und die Behandlung individuell anpassen, um schweren Verläufen mit möglicher Todesfolge vorzubeugen.

Beitrag zur Bewältigung der aktuellen Pandemie

Der spezifische Beitrag dieses Projekts zur Eindämmung der aktuellen Pandemie besteht in der Entwicklung eines Instruments, mit dem wir die Risikofaktoren für schwere COVID-19-Verläufe besser verstehen. Nur wenn wir wissen, welche Rolle die dynamische Expression und die Regulierung von ACE2 spielen, können wir ungünstigen Gegebenheiten in bestimmten Bevölkerungsgruppen mit spezifischen Massnahmen begegnen und infizierte Risikogruppen individuell behandeln. Das Verständnis dieser Mechanismen ist nicht auf SARS-CoV-2 begrenzt, sondern kann auch gute Dienste bei der Bekämpfung künftiger Corona-Infektionen leisten.