Lead
While molecular imaging agents for positron emission tomography (PET) are essential tools for acquiring a better understanding of a disease, its severity and progression, PET has hardly been used in the current COVID-19 pandemic. We are therefore developing a PET tracer to study the expression dynamics of the virus entry receptor ACE2.

Lay summary

Background

The COVID-19 pandemic shows large variability in disease presentation, progression, and outcome. Until recently, the risk factors that determine disease severity and outcome have been scarcely investigated. Adequate early risk stratification will be essential to avoid overburdening hospitals and intensive care units in view of the current and future generations of SARS-CoV infections. Molecular imaging using PET may serve for risk stratification by assessing the expression and regulation of key disease factors, thereby providing personalised treatment options.

Research aims

It has been suggested that the virus entry receptor ACE2 is responsible for the individual’s susceptibility to infection and disease progression. The aim of this project is to develop a radioligand for non-invasive imaging of ACE2 using PET. It should provide clinicians with a tool to investigate the dynamics of ACE2 expression in relation to age, gender, pre-existing morbidity, medication and environmental factors, and thus enable (early) risk stratification.

Expected results and envisaged products

Successful completion of this research project will deliver a PET agent for non-invasive imaging of ACE2. Such radioligands will aid researchers and clinicians to better understand the expression pattern, function and regulation of ACE2 in the context of COVID-19. An understanding of the dynamics of ACE2 expression in relation to various endogenous and exogenous factors will be essential for the risk management of individual patients in the future. Ultimately, clinicians may thus profit from such a PET agent to assess COVID-19 patients and provide them with individual treatments to prevent severe disease progression and a fatal outcome.

Specific contribution to tackle the current pandemic

The specific contribution of this project to the current pandemic refers to the delivery of a tool that serves for a better understanding of risk factors for severe outcome of COVID-19. Only when we understand the role of ACE2 expression, its dynamics and regulation, will it be possible to address unfavourable conditions in certain population groups by specific interventions and to provide specific treatments for infected patients at risk. Certainly, the understanding of these mechanisms is not limited to SARS-CoV-2 but may also be of value to fight future generations of corona viral infection.

Lead
Les agents d’imagerie moléculaire en tomographie par émission de positrons (TEP) sont précieux pour mieux comprendre une maladie, sa gravité et sa progression. Pourtant, l’imagerie TEP n’a presque pas été utilisée dans le contexte de la pandémie de COVID-19. Nous avons par conséquent entrepris de développer un traceur de TEP permettant d’étudier la dynamique d’expression de l’ACE2, le récepteur d’entrée du virus.

Lay summary

Contexte

Les manifestations, la progression et l’issue du COVID-19 sont extrêmement variables. Les facteurs de risque déterminant la gravité et l’issue de la maladie ont été très peu étudiés jusqu’à récemment, mais une stratification adéquate et précoce du risque sera indispensable pour éviter de surcharger les hôpitaux et les unités de soins intensifs, dans la perspective des infections par les générations actuelles et futures de SARS-CoV. L’imagerie moléculaire par TEP peut jouer un rôle dans la stratification des risques en mesurant l’expression et la régulation des principaux acteurs de la maladie, et ouvrir ainsi la voie à des traitements sur mesure.

Objectifs de recherche

Il a été suggéré que l’ACE2, le récepteur d’entrée du virus, était responsable de la susceptibilité individuelle à l’infection et à la progression de la maladie. Le but de notre projet est de développer un radioligand pour l’imagerie non invasive de l’ACE2 par TEP. Ce traceur devrait offrir aux cliniciens un outil pour étudier la dynamique de l’expression de l’ACE2 en fonction de l’âge, du sexe, des morbidités préexistantes, du traitement médicamenteux et des facteurs d’environnement et permettre ainsi une stratification (précoce) des risques. 

Résultats et produits envisagés

À terme, ce projet fournira un agent de TEP pour l’imagerie non invasive de l’ACE2. De tels radioligands aideront chercheurs et cliniciens à mieux comprendre le schéma d’expression, la fonction et la régulation de l’ACE2 dans le contexte du COVID-19. La gestion des risques individuels des patients passera par la compréhension de la dynamique d’expression de l’ACE2 en fonction de différents facteurs endogènes et exogènes. En définitive, les cliniciens pourront tirer parti de cet agent de TEP pour évaluer les patients infectés par le SARS-CoV-2 et leur dispenser un traitement sur mesure afin d’empêcher la progression vers les formes graves, voire fatales, du COVID-19.

Contribution à la lutte contre la pandémie actuelle

La contribution spécifique de ce projet dans le contexte de la pandémie actuelle consiste à fournir un outil facilitant la compréhension des facteurs de risque de formes graves du COVID-19. Ce n’est qu’en comprenant le rôle de l’expression de l’ACE2, sa dynamique et sa régulation que nous pourrons enrayer les affections critiques qui touchent certains groupes de la population, en recourant à des interventions spécifiques et en offrant des traitements spécifiques aux patients infectés à risque. Il va de soi que la compréhension de ces mécanismes ne se limitera pas au SARS-CoV-2 mais pourra aussi être précieuse pour lutter contre les générations futures de coronavirus.