Lead
Healthcare workers are at risk of SARS-CoV-2 infection by way of droplets and aerosols. To date, no study has combined virus detection technology with a clinical trial to assess the exposure risk as a function of appropriate facemask usage in COVID-19 patient care.

Lay summary

Background

Recent data on the COVID-19 pandemic suggest that healthcare workers are at risk of infection by SARS-CoV-2, particularly when they are not wearing adequate personal protective equipment. However, the risk of SARS-CoV-2 transmission by the environment and the “adequacy” of personal protective equipment in such a context is still the subject of debate. To date, neither real-time SARS-CoV-2 detection nor head-to-head comparison of personal protective equipment during COVID-19 patient care have been performed.

Research aims

In this project, we will validate a novel biosensor to improve detection and continuous monitoring of SARS-CoV-2 in droplets or aerosols in COVID-19 patient rooms. In parallel, a state-of-the-art clinical trial will evaluate the benefits of wearing surgical masks compared to filtering face piece masks during COVID-19 patient care, according to the present recommendations of the World Health Organization.

Expected results and envisaged products

The real-time sensing system with an integrated aerosol sampler, a micro-processing system and an LSPR (localised surface plasmon resonance) biosensor will be miniaturised into a portable system and will allow precise virus detection, discrimination and identification. The biosensor will quantify the shedding of SARS-CoV-2 in the air. The airborne virus concentrations in the COVID-19 patient rooms and at various distances from the patients will be derived, which will facilitate estimation of the viral exposure for the healthcare workers. The cluster-randomised trial will put the findings of the biosensor into a clinical perspective on selecting the appropriate masking strategy. We expect that selective filtering face piece 2 (FFP2) masking is not inferior to universal FFP2 masking.

Specific contribution to tackle the current pandemic

This project will provide an alternative and reliable method in clinical diagnosis and a critical tool for monitoring of SARS-CoV-2 transmission. The real-time detection system will contribute evidence to the debate on the role of droplets and aerosols in SARS-CoV-2 transmission, and to risk assessment for healthcare workers. It is hoped that combining biosensor data with clinical findings will drive improvements in hospital practice with regard to the protection of healthcare workers and reduce the risk of healthcare-associated SARS-CoV-2 infection.

Lead
Soignants qui s’en occupent des patients atteints du COVID-19 sont à risque d'infection par le SARS-CoV-2 dans les gouttelettes et aérosols. À ce jour, aucune étude n'a combiné la technologie de détection de virus avec un essai clinique pour évaluer le risque d'exposition en fonction de l'utilisation appropriée du type de masque pendant les soins du COVID-19.

Lay summary

Contexte

Les données récentes sur la pandémie de COVID-19 suggèrent que le personnel de santé est à risque d’infection par le SARS-CoV-2, en particulier s’il n’est pas équipé de protection personnelle adéquate. Toutefois, le risque de transmission par l’environnement, ainsi que le caractère adéquat ou non de l’équipement personnel de protection dans ce type de contexte, font encore l’objet de débats. A ce jour, ni la détection en temps réel du SARS-CoV-2, ni la comparaison directe des équipements de protection des soignants de patients COVID-19 n’ont été effectuées.

Objectifs de recherche

Dans le cadre de ce projet, nous validerons un nouveau biosenseur pour améliorer la détection et le monitoring constant du SARS-CoV-2 dans les gouttelettes ou les aérosols dans les chambres des patients COVID-19. Parallèlement, un essai clinique de pointe évaluera les avantages du port du masque chirurgical comparé au port du masque de protection respiratoire dans le contexte des soins aux patients COVID-19, tel que le recommande l’OMS.

Résultats et produits envisagés

Le système de détection en temps réel, intégrant un échantillonneur d’aérosols, un micro-processeur et un biosenseur LSPR (localized surface plasmon resonance), sera miniaturisé en un appareil portable et permettra la détection, la différenciation et l’identification précises du virus. Le biosenseur quantifiera l’excrétion virale dans l’air. Cela permettra de connaître les concentrations atmosphériques de virus dans les chambres des patients COVID-19 et à différentes distances des patients, et d’estimer plus facilement l’exposition au virus du personnel. L’essai randomisé par grappes mettra en perspective clinique les données obtenues par le biosenseur, pour choisir la stratégie adéquate de port du masque. Nous attendons des résultats montrant que porter le masque de protection respiratoire FFP2 de manière sélective n’est pas moins efficace que de le porter en permanence.

Contribution à la lutte contre la pandémie actuelle

Ce projet fournira une méthode alternative et fiable pour le diagnostic clinique et un outil crucial pour le monitoring de la transmission du SARS-CoV-2. Le système de détection en temps réel apportera des données objectives au débat sur la contribution des gouttelettes et des aérosols à la transmission du SARS-CoV-2, et à l’évaluation du risque pour le personnel de santé. Combiner les données du biosenseur et les résultats cliniques devrait permettre d’améliorer les pratiques hospitalières de protection du personnel, et de réduire le risque d’infection nosocomiale par le SARS-CoV-2.