Lead
The aim of SMILE-II project is to research and build advanced technology for sign language learning. More precisely, the proposed project is building on the groundwork laid down by the SNSF Sinergia project SMILE, which dealt with assessment of the manual activity of Swiss German Sign Language (Deutschschweizerische Geba rdensprache, DSGS) in isolated signs produced by L1 users and L2 learners. SMILE-II will extend this technology to continuous sign language assessment including both manual and non-manual components of signs so that a DSGS learner’s sentence-level production can be assessed in an automatic manner.

Lay summary

The aim of SMILE-II project is to research and build advanced technology for sign language learning. More precisely, the proposed project is building on the groundwork laid down by the SNSF Sinergia project SMILE, which dealt with assessment of the manual activity of Swiss German Sign Language (Deutschschweizerische Geba rdensprache, DSGS) in isolated signs produced by L1 users and L2 learners. SMILE-II will extend this technology to continuous sign language assessment including both manual and non-manual components of signs so that a DSGS learner’s sentence-level production can be assessed in an automatic manner.

To achieve the goal of the project, SMILE-II brings together researchers from different fields, namely, sign language linguistics, sign language assessment, sign language technology, and spoken language technology, to conduct research and development on,

  1. creation of and linguistic analysis of continuous DSGS resource (including longitudinal DSGS learner data)
  2. development of methods to extract manual and non-manual information from continuous signing and developing deep learning-based sign language recognition and sign language production approaches.
  3. development of instruments for sign language assessment aligned to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).
  4. development of automatic sign language assessment tools to assist sign language learning.

The SMILE-II project involves not only experienced and internationally known researchers in their respective fields, but also young hearing and Deaf team members. The results of the project are expected to have an impact in the Deaf community beyond DSGS, the sign language linguistics community, the sign language technology community, and the sign language education community.

Lead
L'objectif du projet SMILE-II est de développer une technologie de pointe pour l'apprentissage de la langue des signes. Plus précisément, le projet s'appuie sur le travail réalisé par le projet FNS Sinergia SMILE qui portait sur l'évaluation de l'activité manuelle de la langue des signes suisse allemande (Deutschschweizerische Gebärdensprache, DSGS) de signes isolés produits par des utilisateurs L1 et des apprenants L2. SMILE-II souhaite étendre cette technologie à une évaluation continue en incluant les composants manuels et non manuels des signes afin que la production de phrase DSGS d’un apprenant puisse être évaluée de manière automatique.

Lay summary
L'objectif du projet SMILE-II est de développer une technologie de pointe pour l'apprentissage de la langue des signes. Plus précisément, le projet s'appuie sur le travail réalisé par le projet FNS Sinergia SMILE qui portait sur l'évaluation de l'activité manuelle de la langue des signes suisse allemande (Deutschschweizerische Gebärdensprache, DSGS) de signes isolés produits par des utilisateurs L1 et des apprenants L2. SMILE-II souhaite étendre cette technologie à une évaluation continue en incluant les composants manuels et non manuels des signes afin que la production de phrase DSGS d’un apprenant puisse être évaluée de manière automatique.

Pour atteindre ce but, SMILE-II rassemble des chercheurs de différents domaines, à savoir la linguistique, l'évaluation et la technologie de la langue des signes ainsi que la technologie de la langue parlée, pour mener des recherches et développements sur,
a)    la création et l’analyse linguistique de ressource DSGS continue (y compris les données longitudinales des apprenants DSGS).
b)    des méthodes pour extraire les informations manuelles et non manuelles de la production continue signée ainsi que des approches de deep learning de reconnaissance et de synthèse de la langue des signes.
c)    des instruments d'évaluation alignés sur le Cadre Européen Commun de Référence pour les Langues (CECR).
d)    des outils d'évaluation automatique pour faciliter l'apprentissage de la langue des signes.

Le projet SMILE-II implique non seulement des chercheurs expérimentés et de renommée internationale, mais également des jeunes collaborateurs entendants et Sourds. L’impact des résultats du projet est attendu dans la communauté Sourde au-delà du DSGS, dans les communautés de la linguistique, de la technologie et de l'enseignement de la langue des signes.