Lead
Human herpes viruses can cause a vast array of infections in humans, ranging from banal, spontaneously resolutive to severe, life-threatening diseases. Herpes simplex encephalitis (HSE) is the most common cause of sporadic fatal viral encephalitis in Western countries with a mortality rate of ~70% in the absence of antiviral treatment. It occurs in 1 out of 250’000-500’000 apparently “immunocompetent” patients per year, with a bimodal age distribution including children and adults over the age of 50 years.The aim of this project is to identify rare genetic variants which could explain the development of HSE in both children and adults and to functionally characterize them. In addition, this project also aims to detect common genetic variants associated with reactivation of HSV infections among solid organ transplant recipients, which is more frequent and severe than among immunocompetent individuals.

Lay summary

In the first part of the project, we will continue collecting samples from HSE patients and family members and perform whole exome sequencing in order to identify genetic variants associated with HSE predisposition. Functional impact of variants will be estimated by both in vitro and ex vivo approaches and whenever feasible by using an animal model of HSE.

Their physiological relevance will be assessed by using brain-specific cell differentiation technologies from patients’ induced pluripotent stem cells. Altogether, this study will provide new insights in the immuno-pathogenesis of HSE.

In the second part of the project, we will examine whether common genetic variants influence susceptibility to HSV infections among SOT recipients from the Swiss transplant cohort study by successively using a candidate gene and a genomewide approach. This study may improve the prevention and treatment of HSV infections among immunosuppressed patients.

    Altogether, this study will help understand whether a continuum exists in some genes/immune pathways linking rare and common genetic variants towards susceptibility to HSV-1 infection.

Lead
Les virus de la famille de l’herpès peuvent causer plusieurs types d’infections, la plupart du temps banales, se résolvant spontanément mais aussi des maladies beaucoup plus sévères et mortelles comme l’encéphalite herpétique (HSE). L’HSE est associée à un taux de mortalité d’environ 70% en l’absence de traitement antiviral et affecte un individu apparemment « immunocompétent » sur 250’000-500'000 individus par an, avec une répartition par âge bimodale, comprenant les enfants et les adultes de plus de 50 ans.Le but de ce projet est d’identifier les variants génétiques rares qui pourraient expliquer la survenue de l’encéphalite herpétique chez les enfants et les adultes, et de les caractériser fonctionnellement. Ce projet vise également à détecter des variants génétiques communs associés à la réactivation des infections causées par le virus de l’herpès chez des patients immunodéprimés; cette réactivation étant plus fréquente et sévère que chez des individus immunocompétents.

Lay summary

Dans la première partie de ce projet, nous continuerons à collecter des échantillons biologiques chez des patients développant une encéphalite herpétique et des membres de leur famille. Le séquençage des exomes permettra d’identifier les variants génétiques associées à la prédisposition à l’encéphalite herpétique. L’impact fonctionnel de ces variants sera estimé en utilisant des approches expérimentales in vitro, ex vivo et chaque fois que cela sera possible en utilisant un modèle animal de HSE.

La pertinence physiologique de ces variants sera évaluée en utilisant des technologies de différentiation cellulaire spécifiques au cerveau, à partir de cellules souches pluripotentes issues des patients et des membres de leur famille. Cette étude permettra de mieux comprendre la physio-pathologie de l’HSE.

Dans la deuxième partie du projet, nous déterminerons si des variants génétiques communs influent la sensibilité aux infections causées par le virus de l’herpès chez des receveurs d’organe(s) solide(s) en utilisant successivement une approche « gène candidat » et une approche à l’échelle du génome (GWAS). Cette étude pourrait améliorer la prévention et le traitement des infections causées par le virus de l’herpès chez les patients immunodéprimés.

Dans sa globalité, ce projet aidera à comprendre s’il existe un continuum reliant, pour des mêmes gènes ou voies de signalisation, des variants génétiques rares à des variants génétiques communs, dans le contexte des infections causées par le virus de l’herpès.