Lead
Prof. Yves Emery and David Giauque, University of Lausanne

Lay summary

Employees’ performance and well-being in different contexts: Do New Ways of Working matter?

 Summary of the project

Public and private organizations seek to develop managerial and HR practices which create favorable conditions so as to increase both well-being and performance among their employees. Do New Ways of Working matter when it comes to reach jointly these two job outcomes’ objectives?

Content and purpose of the research project

The main idea behind this research project is to investigate the impacts of NWW practices in contemporary organizations, both on well-being (happiness, health and social relations) and performance of employees in different work settings. NWW may be described as organizational practices which allow employees to work more autonomously with less organizational constraints, with respect to time management, workspace (so called activity-based offices), or geographical location (mobile work), thanks to a favorable work environment, an appropriate leadership style, and technological devices to support mobile work.

This research aims to identify whether these NWW practices might be positive levers for improving employees’ well-being and performance as well. Another important objective is to test whether positive effects may be due to specific individual NWW practices or, on the contrary, to appropriate bundles of these practices. Other interaction factors will be included as well, such as leadership style and perceived organizational support, for instance.

Scientific and social context of the research project

Based on sociological and managerial theories, this research project lies on a mixed methodological approach combining qualitative interviews with employees, HR managers and line managers with a quantitative part related to a survey which will be sent to employees working in public or private organizations. This latter procedure will allow us to identify possible differences between the two sectors (private and public). This research will contribute to identify important levers to shape new work environments which could lead to increased well-being and performance among employees.

Keywords :

New Ways of Working; Well-being at work ; work performance ; private-public sectoral differences ; leadership ; organizational support.

Start of the project: autumn 2019.

Lead
Prof. Yves Emery und David Giauque, Universit├Ąt Lausanne

Lay summary

Leistung und Wohlbefinden der Angestellten in verschiedenen Organisationen :

Machen die neuen Arbeitsmodelle einen Unterschied ?

Kurze Zusammenfassung des Projektes

Die öffentlichen sowie die privaten Organisationen haben als Ziel gleichermaßen das Wohlbefinden ihrer Angestellten sowie auch ihre Leistung zu steigern. Stellen die neuen Arbeitsmodelle adäquate Mittel zur Erreichung dieser Ziele dar ?

Inhalt und Ziele der Forschungsarbeit

Die Grundidee dieses Forschungsprojekts ist das Hinterfragen der Auswirkungen der neuen Arbeitsmodelle (sogenannte „New Ways of Working“), sowohl in Betracht der Arbeitsleistung als auch des Wohlbefindens (Zufriedenheit, Beziehungen und Gesundheit) der Mitarbeiter. Diese können definiert werden als Arbeitsmodelle, die den Angestellten ermöglichen, Zeit und Ort ihrer Tätigkeit frei auszuwählen, dank eines günstigen Arbeitsumfeldes, eines adäquaten Leadership-Stils und Technologien, die der mobilen Arbeit angepasst sind.

Dieses Forschungsprojekt soll herausfinden, welche der neuen Arbeitsmodelle am wirksamsten sind. Gleichzeitig möchten wir analysieren, ob die Auswirkungen grösser sind dank einzelner Praktiken (z.B. sogenannte dynamic offices, wo die Angestellten ihre Arbeitsplätze frei auswählen können) oder ob Bündelungen oder « Bundles » von Praktiken wirksamer sind. Andere Faktoren der Interaktion werden ebenfalls miteinbezogen, wie zum Beispiel Führungsstil und wahrgenommene Unterstützung von der Organisation.

Wissenschaftlicher und sozialer Zusammenhang des Forschungsprojektes

In dem es soziologische und managerialische Ansätze mobilisiert, wendet dieses Projekt eine gemischte Methodologie an, die Interviews mit Angestellten,  Kadern und HR-Spezialisten von öffentlichen und privaten Organisationen vorsieht sowie die Auswertung eines Mitarbeiter-Fragebogens derselben Organisationen. Dadurch soll ermöglicht werden, potentielle Unterschiede zwischen den beiden Sektoren, sowie die günstigsten Faktoren  des Arbeitsumfelds identifizieren zu können, anhand derer sowohl Leistung wie auch Wohlbefinden der Angestellten gesteigert werden können.

Schlüsselwörter

Wohlbefinden am Arbeitsplatz ; Arbeitsleistung ; neue Arbeitsmodelle ; sektorielle Unterschiede privat-öffentlich ; Leadership ; wahrgenommene Unterstützung von der Organisation.

Beginn des Projektes : Herbst 2019