Lead
Prof. Yves Emery and David Giauque, University of Lausanne

Lay summary

Employees’ performance and well-being in different contexts: Do New Ways of Working matter?

 Summary of the project

Public and private organizations seek to develop managerial and HR practices which create favorable conditions so as to increase both well-being and performance among their employees. Do New Ways of Working matter when it comes to reach jointly these two job outcomes’ objectives?

Content and purpose of the research project

The main idea behind this research project is to investigate the impacts of NWW practices in contemporary organizations, both on well-being (happiness, health and social relations) and performance of employees in different work settings. NWW may be described as organizational practices which allow employees to work more autonomously with less organizational constraints, with respect to time management, workspace (so called activity-based offices), or geographical location (mobile work), thanks to a favorable work environment, an appropriate leadership style, and technological devices to support mobile work.

This research aims to identify whether these NWW practices might be positive levers for improving employees’ well-being and performance as well. Another important objective is to test whether positive effects may be due to specific individual NWW practices or, on the contrary, to appropriate bundles of these practices. Other interaction factors will be included as well, such as leadership style and perceived organizational support, for instance.

Scientific and social context of the research project

Based on sociological and managerial theories, this research project lies on a mixed methodological approach combining qualitative interviews with employees, HR managers and line managers with a quantitative part related to a survey which will be sent to employees working in public or private organizations. This latter procedure will allow us to identify possible differences between the two sectors (private and public). This research will contribute to identify important levers to shape new work environments which could lead to increased well-being and performance among employees.

Keywords :

New Ways of Working; Well-being at work ; work performance ; private-public sectoral differences ; leadership ; organizational support.

Start of the project: autumn 2019.

Lead
Professeurs Yves Emery et David Giauque, Université de Lausanne

Lay summary
La performance et le bien-être des employés dans différents contextes organisationnels : les nouvelles manières de travailler font-elles une différence ?

Projet subventionné par le Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique
Subside no : 100018_185133
Responsables prof. Y. Emery et Prof. D. Giauque, Université de Lausanne

Résumé succinct du projet

Les organisations publiques et privées visent tout à la fois à augmenter le bien-être de leurs employés ainsi que leur performance. Les nouvelles manières de travailler constituent-elles des moyens appropriés pour atteindre ces objectifs ?

Contenu et objectifs du travail de recherche
L’idée à la base de cette recherche est de questionner l’impact des nouvelles manières de travailler au sein des organisations, à la fois sur la performance et le bien-être (satisfaction, relations sociales, santé) des travailleurs. Celles-ci peuvent être définies comme des pratiques organisationnelles qui permettent aux salariés de travailler en s’affranchissant des contraintes organisationnelles, de temps, d’espace, de lieu géographique, ceci grâce à un environnement de travail favorable, un style de leadership approprié et des technologies adaptées au travail mobile.
Cette recherche vise à déterminer quelles sont les nouvelles manières de travailler les plus favorables pour les salariés. Nous souhaitons également déterminer si les effets sont plus importants grâce à des pratiques isolées ou si des « grappes » ou « Bundles » de pratiques s’avèrent plus judicieuses. D’autres facteurs d’interaction seront également pris en compte, tels que, par exemple, le type de leadership et le soutien organisationnel perçu par le personnel.

Contexte scientifique et social du projet de recherche
Mobilisant des approches sociologiques et managériales des organisations, ce projet s’appuie sur une méthodologie mixte combinant des entretiens auprès de salariés, managers et spécialistes RH, ainsi que la passation d’un questionnaire auprès du personnel d’organisations publiques et privées, afin d’identifier d’éventuelles différences sectorielles. Il va donc contribuer à identifier des leviers permettant de créer des environnements de travail tout à la fois performants et favorables aux salariés.

Mots-clés :

Bien-être au travail ; performance ; nouvelles manières de travailler ; différences sectorielles privé-public ; leadership ; soutien organisationnel.

Début du projet : automne 2019.