Lead
Superconductivity is a unique state of matter where quantum mechanics lead to the astonishing ability to transport electric energy completely loss-less. If we could discover materials with this property at ambient temperature, it would revolutionize how we tackle society's grand challenges from energy and information to health.

Lay summary
To date there exist two classes of superconducting materials. Conventional superconductors for which we have a theoretical understanding, but which require cooling below minus 250 degrees or extremely high pressures to function, making them impractical for all but a few applications (such as very expensive magnetic resonance imaging machines in hospitals). Unconventional superconductors have been discovered to function up to minus 100 degrees, and could potentially be discovered to function even at ambient temperature. However, in the absence of a good theory for unconventional superconductors, their discovery has so far been accidental. In this project we target key signatures of known high temperature superconductors and explore materials with similar signatures in the search for new high temperature superconductors.

This endeavor is a joint project between Institute of Physics at University of Zagreb and Laboratory for Quantum Magnetism at Ecole Polytechnique de Lausanne. By joining forces, the collaboration will include all necessary steps for
exploring new classes of electronic materials with potential for unconventional superconductivity, from theoretical predictions over materials synthesis and characterization to state of the art transport and spectroscopic studies under extreme conditions of temperature, magnetic field and pressure. The collaboration will form a bridge between two institutes with complementary expertise and capabilities through which we envisage undergraduate and graduate student as well as scientific staff exchange.

Lead
Supraleitung ist ein einzigartiger quantenmechanischer Materiezustand, der elektrische Energie völlig verlustfrei zu transportieren vermag. Die Entdeckung von Materialien mit supraleitenden Eigenschaften bei Raumtemperatur würde die Art und Weise revolutionieren wie wir grosse gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen angehen können - von Energie, Information bis hin zu Gesundheit.

Lay summary

Bislang gibt es zwei Klassen von supraleitenden Materialien. Konventionelle Supraleiter, die wir zwar theoretisch gut verstehen, die aber bis auf wenige Ausnahmen (etwa sehr teure Magnetresonanztomographie-Maschinen in Krankenhäusern) für praktische Anwendungen ungeeignet sind, da sie nur bei Temperaturen unter minus 250 Grad Celsius oder bei extrem hohen Drücken funktionieren. Unkonventionelle Supraleiter wurden mit Sprungtemperaturen bis zu minus 100 Grad Celsius entdeckt und möglicherweise könnten Vertreter dieser Klasse sogar bei Raumtemperatur funktionieren. Allerdings war die Entdeckung solcher unkonventionellen Supraleiter mangels einer adäquaten Theorie eher vom Zufall geleitet. In diesem Projekt zielen wir auf die elementaren Merkmale von Hochtemperaturesupraleitern ab und untersuchen auf der Suche nach neuen Hochtemperatursupraleitern Materialien mit ähnlichen Merkmalen.

Dieses Vorhaben ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des Instituts für Physik an der Universität Zagreb und des Labors für Quantenmagnetismus an der Ecole Polytechnique de Lausanne. Die Bündelung unserer Anstrengungen erlaubt es uns alle notwendigen Schritte auf dem Weg zur Erforschung neuer Klassen von elektronischen Materialien mit dem Potential für unkonventionelle Supraleitung zu gehen, von theoretischen Vorhersagen, über Materialsynthese und Charakterisation, bis hin zu modernsten Transport- und Spektroskopiemessungen unter extremen Temperatur-, Magnetfeld- und Druckbedingungen. Diese Kollaboration erlaubt den Brückenschlag zwischen zwei Instituten mit komplementären Kompetenzen und Ressourcen, über den wir den Austausch von Studenten, Doktoranden und wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern planen.