Lead
Thanks to the experiments at the LHC of CERN, scientists were able to confirm all the predictions of the Standard Model of particles, in particular the existence of a Higgs boson. However, several gaps are present in the Standard Model, especially the lack of explanation for dark matter and dark energy (which constitute 25% and 70% of the Universe, respectively), the mass of the neutrinos, the absence of antimatter in the Universe.The New Physics, that is to say the particles and the phenomena which would explain these gaps, is actively sought for in unexplored regions.In this context, the SHiP experiment looks for particles difficult to detect because they interact very little with matter and have a long time of life. These particles are good candidates for dark matter. Moreover, if their presence is confirmed, one would be able to explain the mass of the neutrinos and the asymmetry matter-antimatter in the Universe.

Lay summary

The SHiP detector would be housed in an underground hall at CERN, 120 m long by 20 m wide, and powered by an SPS proton accelerator extraction line. The known particles (of the Standard Model), produced when the SPS protons hit the SHiP target, will be largely absorbed in a filter portion of the detector. The new particles, instead, would continue on their way to disintegrate in a particular area of the detector, thus becoming detectable.

This subsidy from the SNSF allows to finance the salary of a postdoc who will participate in the design and research & development phase of the SHiP experiment.

The ability to remove the background from ordinary (Standard Model) particles is vital to successfully detect the particles associated to New Physics. One of the elements of the filter is intended for the suppression of the muons, very penetrating charged particles and difficult to stop. The idea is to use an electromagnet to produce a magnetic field having a particular topology, in order to deflect the trajectory of the muons towards the outside of the detector. The postdoc will therefore participate in the design and simulation of the electromagnet, which could be of superconducting type.

After the muon filter, SHiP provides a detector that will study light particles, such as the tau neutrino. This neutrino is the least known and the tau anti-neutrino is the only particle predicted by the Standard Model that has not yet been observed. For the construction of this subsystem, SHiP foresees a detector based on scintillating fiber technology (SciFi). The light produced by the passage of a charged particle is conveyed by the fibers to semiconductor photodetectors (SiPM). The EPFL group has already developed this technology as part of the LHCb experiment. The second part of this SNSF project is devoted to adapting the SciFi and SiPM technology to SHiP.

Lead
Grâce aux expériences du LHC au CERN, les scientifiques ont été en mesure de confirmer l’ensemble des prédictions du Modèle standard, en particulier l’existence d’un boson de Higgs. Toutefois plusieurs lacunes sont présentes dans le Modèle standard, tout spécialement l'absence d’explication pour la matière noire et l’énergie noire (qui constituent respectivement 25 % et 70 % de l’Univers), la masse des neutrinos, et l'absence d'antimatière.La nouvelle physique, c’est-à-dire les particules et les phénomènes qui expliqueraient ces lacunes, est activement recherchée dans des régions encore inexplorées. Dans ce contexte, l'expérience SHiP cherche des particules difficiles à détecter: celle qui interagissent très peu avec la matière et qui ont un long temps de vie. Ces particules sont de bons candidats pour la matière noire. De plus, si leur présence est confirmée, il serait alors possible d'expliquer la masse des neutrinos et l'asymétrie matière-antimatière de l'Univers.

Lay summary

Le détecteur SHiP, de 120 m de long sur 20 m de large, sera accueilli dans un hall souterrain au CERN et alimenté par une ligne d’extraction de l'accélérateur de protons SPS. Les particules connues (du Modèle standard), produites lorsque les protons du SPS frapperont la cible de SHiP, seront en grande partie absorbées dans une portion filtre du détecteur. Les nouvelles particules, par contre, poursuivraient leur route pour se désintégrer dans une région spécialement équipée du détecteur, devenant ainsi détectables.

Ce subside du FNRS permet de financer le salaire d'un postdoc qui participera au design et a la phase de recherche et développement de l'expérience SHiP.

La capacité de supprimer efficacement le bruit de fond des particules ordinaires (du Modele standard) est vital pour réussir à détecter les particules de la nouvelle physique. Un des éléments du filtre est destiné à la suppression des muons qui sont des particules chargées très pénétrantes. L'idée est d'utiliser un électroaimant produisant un champ magnétique avec une topologie particulière, dans le but de défléchir la trajectoire des muons vers l'extérieur du détecteur. Le postdoc participera donc au design et à la simulation de l'électroaimant, qui pourrait être du type supraconducteur.

Après le filtre à muons, SHiP prévoit un détecteur qui permettra d'étudier les particules légères, comme le neutrino tau. Ce neutrino est le moins connu et l'anti-neutrino tau est la seule particule prévue par le Modèle standard qui n'a pas encore été observée. Ce sous-système de SHiP contient un détecteur basé sur la technologie des fibres scintillantes (SciFi). La lumière produite par le passage des particules chargées est transportée par les fibres jusqu’à des photo-détecteurs à semi-conducteur (SiPM). Le groupe de l'EPFL a déjà développé cette technologie dans le cadre de l'expérience LHCb. La deuxième partie de ce projet FNRS est consacré à adapter la technologie SciFi et SiPM à SHiP.