Lead
Will consumers who are motivated to use a particular natural resource in a sustainable way also use other natural resources more sustainably? For example, will a person reduce food waste if he or she learns to use water sparingly? Or does the opposite occur?

Lay summary

Background
With the help of various, mostly economically or psychologically oriented measures, efforts are being made today to render the use of natural resources by consumers more sustainable. The effectiveness of such measures varies. Impact analyses exist, but are usually contextually isolated, so that it is not possible to estimate the effects of the measures for other areas. This is necessary, however, in order to increase the sustainability of consumption as a whole.

Aims
We want to determine under which conditions and for which areas positive or negative “spill-over effects” occur as a consequence of measures to increase the sustainable use of resources. The analysis is based on empirical field and laboratory studies. It is particularly important to determine the individual’s perceived costs and benefits of the more sustainable use of a resource. It is also important to learn which resources are related in the eyes of the user.

Importance
Based on this project it may be possible to conceptualise measures that stimulate as many positive and as few negative “spill-over effects” as possible for the use of natural resources. In this way, the efficiency of the interventions to increase the sustainable use of natural resources by consumers can be significantly augmented. We are thus addressing Sustainable Development Goals nos. 7 (affordable and clean energy), 12 (responsible consumption and production), and 13 (climate action).

Lead
Nutzen Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten, die für eine nachhaltige Nutzung einer bestimmten natürlichen Ressource motiviert werden, auch andere natürliche Ressourcen nachhaltiger? Reduziert man etwa Nahrungsmittelabfälle, wenn man lernt, sparsamer mit Wasser umzugehen? Oder passiert das Gegenteil?

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Heutzutage wird mit Hilfe verschiedener, zumeist ökonomisch oder psychologisch ausgerichteter Massnahmen versucht, die Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen durch Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher nachhaltiger zu gestalten. Die Wirksamkeit solcher Massnahmen ist jedoch unterschiedlich. Es gibt zwar Wirksamkeitsanalysen, diese sind in der Regel aber isoliert angelegt, so dass man die Auswirkungen der Massnahmen für andere Bereiche nicht abschätzen kann. Dies ist aber notwendig, um die Nachhaltigkeit des Konsums insgesamt zu erhöhen.

Ziel
Wir untersuchen, unter welchen Voraussetzungen und für welche Bereiche positive oder negative Spill-over Effekte als Folge von Massnahmen zur Erhöhung der nachhaltigen Ressourcennutzung auftreten. Die Analysen basieren auf empirischen Studien im Feld und im Labor. Besonders wichtig ist die Ermittlung von individuell wahrgenommenen Kosten und Nutzen einer nachhaltigeren Ressourcennutzung. Ausserdem ist wichtig zu wissen, welche Ressourcen in den Augen der Nutzenden zusammenhängen.

Bedeutung
Auf der Basis dieses Projekts kann es gelingen, Massnahmen so zu konzipieren, dass sie möglichst viele positive und möglichst wenig negative Spill-over Effekte für die Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen auslösen. Auf diese Weise kann die Effizienz von Interventionen zur Erhöhung der nachhaltigen Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen durch Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten erheblich gesteigert werden. Wir adressieren somit die Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Agenda 2030 7 Bezahlbare und saubere Energie, 12 Verantwortungsvoller Konsum und Produktion und 13 Massnahmen zum Klimaschutz.