Lead
Will consumers who are motivated to use a particular natural resource in a sustainable way also use other natural resources more sustainably? For example, will a person reduce food waste if he or she learns to use water sparingly? Or does the opposite occur?

Lay summary

Background
With the help of various, mostly economically or psychologically oriented measures, efforts are being made today to render the use of natural resources by consumers more sustainable. The effectiveness of such measures varies. Impact analyses exist, but are usually contextually isolated, so that it is not possible to estimate the effects of the measures for other areas. This is necessary, however, in order to increase the sustainability of consumption as a whole.

Aims
We want to determine under which conditions and for which areas positive or negative “spill-over effects” occur as a consequence of measures to increase the sustainable use of resources. The analysis is based on empirical field and laboratory studies. It is particularly important to determine the individual’s perceived costs and benefits of the more sustainable use of a resource. It is also important to learn which resources are related in the eyes of the user.

Importance
Based on this project it may be possible to conceptualise measures that stimulate as many positive and as few negative “spill-over effects” as possible for the use of natural resources. In this way, the efficiency of the interventions to increase the sustainable use of natural resources by consumers can be significantly augmented. We are thus addressing Sustainable Development Goals nos. 7 (affordable and clean energy), 12 (responsible consumption and production), and 13 (climate action).

Lead
Les consommatrices et consommateurs motivés à utiliser durablement une ressource naturelle donnée montrent-ils la même motivation pour d’autres ressources naturelles? Réduit-on par exemple ses déchets alimentaires lorsque l’on apprend à utiliser l’eau avec plus de parcimonie? Ou se passe-t-il le contraire?

Lay summary

Contexte
Aujourd’hui, on essaie, par diverses mesures, essentiellement économiques ou psychologiques, de faire adopter aux consommatrices et consommateurs un comportement plus respectueux des ressources naturelles. Cependant, l’efficacité de telles mesures varie. Bien que des analyses d’efficacité existent, elles sont généralement isolées, ce qui ne permet pas d’estimer les effets dans d’autres domaines. Pourtant, cela est indispensable pour améliorer la durabilité de la consommation dans son ensemble.

Objectifs
Nous étudions dans quelles conditions et pour quels domaines les effets de retombées positives ou négatives résultent de mesures visant à accroître l'utilisation durable des ressources. Nos analyses se basent sur des études empiriques sur le terrain et en laboratoire. Ce faisant, l’identification des coûts et des bénéfices d’une utilisation plus durable des ressources tels qu’ils sont perçus par les individus revêt une importance particulière. En outre, nous cherchons à connaître quelles ressources ont un rapport entre elles aux yeux des utilisateurs.

Importance
Sur la base de ce projet, il sera possible de concevoir des mesures de manière à ce qu’elles déclenchent le plus grand nombre d’ "effets d’engrenage" positifs et le moins de retombées négatives possibles dans l’utilisation des ressources naturelles. De cette manière, l’efficacité des interventions visant à stimuler une utilisation durable des ressources naturelles par les consommateurs pourra être considérablement accrue. Nous répondons ainsi aux objectifs de développement durable nos 7 (énergie propre et d’un coût abordable), 12 (villes et communautés durables) et 13 (mesure relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques).