Lead
In order to successfully implement Agenda 2030 and the climate protection targets of the Paris Agreement, a massive conversion of urban space infrastructure is needed. This project makes it possible for relevant players to experience the necessary processes in a computer supported simulation game.

Lay summary

Background
In the 21st century, urban space will be the central organisational form of society. The construction, renewal and operation of the necessary infrastructure go hand in hand with significant burdens for the natural environment. Achieving the objectives of Agenda 2030 and the Paris Agreement will call for the active involvement of the relevant players. Simulation games provide an opportunity for this in that potential development paths can be tested and experienced in a playful manner and verified in terms of their feasibility.

Aims
The aim of this project is to develop a simulation game based on databases and models, and to build on these in order to identify and evaluate potential development paths towards a post-fossil city. In particular, their impacts on social metabolism should be rendered visible and conflicts between the involved players in the game should be revealed.

Importance
Upon completion of the project, a simulation game will be available which will enable social players to experience the impacts of their decisions in the context of the transition to a post-fossil city and to proactively reflect on their role in such a transition. Within Agenda 2030 for Sustainable Development, the project will contribute towards goals nos. 11 (sustainable cities and communities), 12 (responsible consumption and production) and 13 (climate action).

Lead
Um die Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Agenda 2030 und die Klimaschutzziele des Pariser Übereinkommens Abkommens erfolgreich umzusetzen, steht ein massiver Umbau der Infrastruktur urbaner Räume an. Dieses Projekt macht die dafür erforderlichen Prozesse für relevante Akteure in einem computergestützten Simulationsspiel fachlich fundiert erlebbar.

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Im 21. Jahrhundert stellen urbane Räume die zentrale Organisationsform der Gesellschaft dar. Aufbau, Erneuerung und Betrieb der dafür notwendigen Infrastruktur sind mit erheblichen Belastungen für die natürliche Umwelt verbunden. Um die Entwicklungszieleder Agenda 2030 und des Abkommens von Paris, bedarf es einer aktiven Gestaltung durch relevante Akteure. Eine Möglichkeit dafür bieten Simulationsspiele, in denen mögliche Entwicklungspfade spielerisch erprobt, erfahren und hinsichtlich ihrer Umsetzbarkeit geprüft werden können.

Ziel
Ziel des Projektes ist es, Datengrundlagen, Modelle und darauf aufbauend ein Simulationsspiel zu entwickeln, mit dem sich mögliche Entwicklungspfade hin zu einer postfossilen Stadt finden und beurteilen lassen. Insbesondere sollen dabei deren Auswirkungen auf den gesellschaftlichen Metabolismus sichtbar gemacht und Zielkonflikte zwischen den beteiligten Akteuren offengelegt werden.

Bedeutung
Zum Abschluss des Projektes wird ein Simulationsspiel vorliegen, mit dem gesellschaftliche Akteure die Auswirkungen ihrer Entscheidungen im Zusammenhang mit der Transition zu einer postfossilen Stadt erfahren und ihre Rolle in einer solchen Transition proaktiv reflektieren können. Im Rahmen der Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung leistet das Projekt einen Beitrag zu den Zielen 11 Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden, 12 Verantwortungsvoller Konsum und Produktion und 13 Massnahmen zum Klimaschutz.