Lead
In order to successfully implement Agenda 2030 and the climate protection targets of the Paris Agreement, a massive conversion of urban space infrastructure is needed. This project makes it possible for relevant players to experience the necessary processes in a computer supported simulation game.

Lay summary

Background
In the 21st century, urban space will be the central organisational form of society. The construction, renewal and operation of the necessary infrastructure go hand in hand with significant burdens for the natural environment. Achieving the objectives of Agenda 2030 and the Paris Agreement will call for the active involvement of the relevant players. Simulation games provide an opportunity for this in that potential development paths can be tested and experienced in a playful manner and verified in terms of their feasibility.

Aims
The aim of this project is to develop a simulation game based on databases and models, and to build on these in order to identify and evaluate potential development paths towards a post-fossil city. In particular, their impacts on social metabolism should be rendered visible and conflicts between the involved players in the game should be revealed.

Importance
Upon completion of the project, a simulation game will be available which will enable social players to experience the impacts of their decisions in the context of the transition to a post-fossil city and to proactively reflect on their role in such a transition. Within Agenda 2030 for Sustainable Development, the project will contribute towards goals nos. 11 (sustainable cities and communities), 12 (responsible consumption and production) and 13 (climate action).

Lead
Pour réussir à mettre en œuvre l’Agenda 2030 et les objectifs de protection climatique de l’Accord de Paris, une restructuration massive de l'infrastructure des espaces urbains est nécessaire. Le projet propose aux acteurs concernés des processus scientifiques solides et tangibles, intégrés dans un jeu de simulation assisté par ordinateur.

Lay summary

Contexte
Au XXIe siècle, la société s’organisera essentiellement en espaces urbains. La construction, la rénovation et l'exploitation de l’infrastructure nécessaire auront des répercussions importantes sur l'environnement naturel. Pour répondre aux objectifs de l’Agenda 2030 et de l'Accord de Paris, une participation active des parties prenantes est indispensable. Cela peut se faire par des jeux de simulation qui permettent de tester de façon ludique diverses pistes de développement, de les expérimenter et de contrôler leur viabilité.

Objectifs
Le projet a pour objectif de développer des bases de données et des modèles, ainsi que, sur cette base, un jeu de simulation avec lequel il est possible de trouver et d’évaluer des pistes rendant possible la transition vers des villes post-carbone. Cela permet en particulier de révéler leurs effets sur le métabolisme social et de mettre en évidence des conflits d’intérêts entre les acteurs impliqués dans le jeu.

Importance
Au terme du projet, un jeu de simulation sera disponible dans lequel les acteurs de la société pourront faire l'expérience de l'impact de leurs décisions dans le contexte de la transition vers une ville post-carbone. Cela leur permettra de réfléchir sur leur rôle dans une telle transition. Le projet contribue ainsi aux objectifs numéros 11 "Villes et communautés durables", 12 "Consommation et production responsables" et 13 "Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques" de l’Agenda 2030 pour le développement durable.