Lead
Various sustainability oriented economic sectors are competing for scarcer land, which increases the pressure on forests. From the forest perspective we want to systematically describe conflicting objectives between various sectors of a sustainable economy and propose solutions.

Lay summary

Background
In the agglomerations of the Swiss Central Plateau, forest areas are increasingly in competition with other sectors of a sustainable economy (e.g. renewable energies), so that the conversion of forest areas is increasingly being considered. At the same time, greater use of wood is required in regional value chains. All of this can lead to adverse effects on the availability of other socially desirable ecosystem services in forests.

Aims
The aim of this project is to systematically identify and classify conflicts of interest arising from the growth of sustainable economic sectors. We want to evaluate the causes of forest clearing and describe under which circumstances or in which areas the above-mentioned conflicts of interest are most likely to occur. In the case study regions we aim to show how a combination of various political instruments can resolve conflicts of interest and thus contribute towards an optimal solution.

Importance
The project outlines possible conflicts of interest that may inevitably arise when promoting a sustainable economy, and systematises them so that the responsible players can better take them into account. Furthermore, the feasibility of proposals for solutions is evaluated in case study regions. This project therefore contributes towards the “Sustainable Development Goals”, in particular nos. 15 (life on land, especially 15.2), 16 (peace and justice strong institutions) and 17 (partnerships for the goals).

Lead
Verschiedene, auf Nachhaltigkeit ausgerichtete, Wirtschaftssektoren konkurrieren zunehmend um knapper werdendes Land und erhöhen den Druck auf die Wälder. Aus der Perspektive des Waldes beschreiben wir systematisch Zielkonflikte zwischen verschiedenen Sektoren einer nachhaltigen Wirtschaft und schlagen Lösungen vor.

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Im Schweizer Mittelland steht die Waldfläche zunehmend auch in Konkurrenz zur Nutzung durch andere Sektoren einer nachhaltigen Wirtschaft (z.B. erneuerbare Energien), so dass vermehrt die Umnutzung von Waldflächen in Betracht gezogen wird. Parallel dazu wird in regionalen Wertschöpfungsketten eine stärkere Nutzung von Holz angestrebt. All dies kann jedoch zu einer Beeinträchtigung der Bereitstellung anderer gesellschaftlich erwünschter Ökosystemleistungen des Waldes führen.

Ziel
Mit dem Projekt beabsichtigen wir eine systematische Erhebung und Typologisierung von Zielkonflikten, die durch das Wachstum von nachhaltigen Wirtschaftssektoren entstehen. Wir evaluieren die Ursachen von Waldrodungen und legen dar, unter welchen Umständen oder in welchen Gebieten die zuvor genannten Zielkonflikte am ehesten zu erwarten sind. In Fallstudienregionen zeigen wir letztlich, wie eine Kombination von verschiedenen politischen Instrumenten Zielkonflikte lösen und so zu einer optimalen Lösung beitragen kann.

Bedeutung
Das Projekt weist auf mögliche Zielkonflikte hin, die bei der Förderung einer nachhaltigen Wirtschaft zwangsläufig entstehen und systematisiert diese, damit sie von den verantwortlichen Akteuren besser berücksichtigt werden können. Ausserdem wird in Fallstudienregionen die Realisierbarkeit von Lösungsvorschlägen evaluiert. Das Projekt leistet somit auch einen Beitrag zu den Zielen für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Agenda 2030, insbesondere zu den Zielen 15 Leben an Land, 16 Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen und 17 Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele.