Lead
High performance computers are parallel systems with shared and distributed memory. The number of computing units in such systems increased over the years and will continue to increase in the future. This results in computing systems with massive amounts of hardware parallelism. Hardware parallelism is complemented by software parallelism. A good match between the degrees and scales of these two types of parallelism at the various levels of the high performance computers ecosystem is key in exploiting the computational power delivered by these machines.

Lay summary

Content and research objectives 

Hardware parallelism ranges from machine instructions to global compute sites. Similarly, software parallelism ranges from scalar instructions to global job queues. Exploiting the available hardware parallelism even at a single level is notoriously challenging. This is partly due to difficulty in exposing and expressing parallelism in applications.

The project will answer the question: Given massive parallelism, at multiple levels and of diverse forms and granularities, how can it be exposed, expressed, and exploited such that execution times are reduced, performance targets are achieved, and acceptable efficiency is maintained?

This project concentrates on scheduling and load balancing.

In this project we propose a multilevel scheduling (MLS) approach for achieving scalable scheduling in large scale high performance computing systems across the multiple levels of parallelism, with a focus on software parallelism.

The MLS approach will leverage all available parallelism and address hardware heterogeneity in large scale high performance computers such that execution times are reduced, performance targets are achieved, and acceptable efficiency is maintained. The methodology for reaching the multilevel scheduling aims involves theoretical research studies, simulation, and experiments.

Scientific and social context of the research project

This project leverages the most efficient existing scheduling solutions to extend them beyond one or two levels, respectively, and to scale them out within single levels of parallelism.

The project aims to make a fundamental advance toward simpler to use large scale high performance computing systems, with impacts not only in the computer science community but also in all computational science domains.

Lead
Hochleistungsrechnern sind parallele Systeme mit gemeinsamen und verteilten Speicher. Die Anzahl der Recheneinheiten in solchen Systemen hat sich im Laufe der Jahre erhöht und wird weiter steigen. Dies führt in Systemen mit massiven Mengen an Hardware-Parallelismus. Hardware-Parallelismus wird durch Software-Parallelismus ergänzt. Eine gute Übereinstimmung zwischen den Graden und Skalen dieser beiden Arten von Parallelismus auf den verschiedenen Ebenen des Hochleistungsrechnern Ökosystem ist der Schlüssel zur Ausnutzung der Rechenleistung, die von diesen Maschinen geliefert wird.

Lay summary

Inhalte und Forschungsziele

Hardware-Parallelismus reicht von Maschinenanweisungen zu globalen Rechnung-Standorte. Ähnlich reicht die Software-Parallelismus von skalaren Instruktionen zu globalen Job-Warteschlangen. Die Ausnutzung der verfügbaren Hardware-Parallelismus auch auf einer einzigen Ebene ist notorisch schwierig. Dies ist zum Teil aufgrund der Schwierigkeit bei der Aussetzung, der Ausdruck und der Ausnutzung von Parallelismus in den Rechenanwendungen.

Das Projekt wird beantworten: Angesichts der massiven Parallelismus auf mehreren Ebenen und unterschiedlicher Formen und Granularitäten, wie kann es so ausgesetzt, ausgedrückt und ausgenutzt werden, dass Ausführungszeiten reduziert werden, Leistungsziele Erreicht werden und ein akzeptabler Wirkungsgrad beibehalten wird?

Dieses Projekt konzentriert sich auf Scheduling und Lastenausgleich.

In diesem Projekt schlagen wir einen mehrstufigen-Scheduling-Ansatz (MLS) für die Erreichung skalierbare Scheduling in großen Skala Hochleistungsrechnersysteme über die verschiedenen Ebenen der Parallelismus, mit einem Fokus auf Software-Parallelismus.

Der MLS-Ansatz zielt darauf ab, allem verfügbaren Parallelismus zu nutzen und Hardware-Heterogenität zu adressieren in großen Skala Hochleistungsrechnern. Die Methodik zum Erreichen der mehrstufigen-Scheduling Forschungszielen umfasst theoretische Forschungsstudien, Computer Simulationen und Experimente auf Hochleistungsrechnern.

Wissenschaftlicher und sozialer Kontext des Forschungsprojekts

Dieses Projekt nutzt die effizientesten existierenden Scheduling-lösungen, um sie über ein oder zwei Ebenen hinaus zu erweitern und sie innerhalb einzelner Ebenen der Parallelismus zu skalieren.

Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, einen grundsätzlichen Fortschritt in Richtung auf einfachere, groß angelegte Nutzung von Hochleistungsrechnersystemen zu schaffen, mit Auswirkungen nicht nur in der Informatik-Gemeinschaft, sondern auch in allen Bereichen der Computerwissenschaften.