Lead
The implementation of existing legal provisions (Federal Labour Law, Ordinance on the Protection of Maternity) aimed at protecting the health of pregnant workers or new mothers and their children contains flaws, both in the employment field and in the health care system. Studying the practices of all actors involved should enable us to better identify the obstacles to, as well as the potential resources for, the effective protection of maternity at work.

Lay summary

The implementation of existing legal provisions (Federal Labour Law, Ordinance on the Protection of Maternity) aimed at protecting the health of pregnant workers or new mothers and their children contains flaws, both in the employment field and in the health care system. These flaws cannot merely be attributed to a lack of information; rather, they seem to stem from the contradictory requirements of employment and of maternity protection that lead protagonists to fail to apply some legal provisions, or to develop prevention practices that lie outside legal guidelines.

The project, conducted by a multidisciplinary team (psychologist, midwife and occupational health physician) has the goal of providing an overview of the current implementation of legal provisions for maternity protection in two employment sectors (health care and food production), as well as by gynecologists and midwives in French-speaking Switzerland. It seeks to identify the obstacles and the resources that have an impact on the implementation of these provisions, and aims at evaluating the perceptions of women workers themselves. Data collection will be comprised of two facets: 1) questionnaires for gynecologists, midwives and employers; 2) case studies in 6 to 8 enterprises including interviews with women workers, human resources managers, occupational health physicians and workplace security specialists.

This study will contribute to increasing knowledge and to provide concrete information on health protection practices for workers facing professional risks, as well as on work and maternity conciliation in Switzerland. Its results should promote improvements in maternity protection measures as well as in professional practices.

Lead
Les dispositions juridiques de protection de la maternité (Loi sur le travail, Ordonnance sur la protection de la maternité), qui visent à protéger la santé des travailleuses et de leurs (futurs) enfants pendant la grossesse, suite à l’accouchement et pendant l’allaitement, connaissent des lacunes d’application dans les entreprises et le système de santé. L’étude des pratiques des acteurs concernés devrait permettre de mieux saisir les obstacles et les ressources pour la protection de la maternité au travail.

Lay summary

Les dispositions juridiques de protection de la maternité (Loi sur le travail, Ordonnance sur la protection de la maternité), qui visent à protéger la santé des travailleuses et de leurs (futurs) enfants pendant la grossesse, après l’accouchement et pendant l’allaitement, connaissent des lacunes d’application dans les entreprises et le système de santé. Celles-ci ne peuvent être expliquées seulement par un manque d’information, mais semblent liées aux exigences contradictoires de la conciliation entre travail et maternité, qui mènent les acteurs à ne pas appliquer certaines dispositions ou à développer des pratiques de prévention non prévues par le cadre juridique.

Le projet mené par une équipe pluridisciplinaire (psychologue, sage-femme et médecins du travail) a pour objectif de dresser un état des lieux de l’application des dispositions juridiques de protection de la maternité dans les entreprises de deux secteurs (santé et industrie alimentaire) et par les gynécologues et les sages-femmes en Suisse romande. Il cherche à déterminer quels sont les obstacles et les ressources pour la mise en œuvre de ces dispositions et à évaluer la perception qu’en ont les travailleuses concernées. Le recueil des données comporte deux volets : 1) questionnaires auprès des gynécologues, sages-femmes et entreprises ; 2) études de cas dans 6 à 8 entreprises, comprenant des entretiens avec des travailleuses, des responsables des ressources humaines et des médecins du travail ou des spécialistes de la sécurité au travail.

Cette étude contribuera à améliorer les connaissances et à objectiver les pratiques sur la protection de la santé face aux risques professionnels et sur la conciliation entre travail et maternité en Suisse. Ses résultats devraient favoriser une amélioration des mesures de protection de la maternité et de l’action des professionnel-le-s.