Lead
The research project “Machine Love? Creativity Cultures in Electronic Music and Software Development” is geared towards the investigation of meaning and significance of the creative in two vibrant fields of the Creative Industries: underground electronic music and software engineering within the context of the production of tools for ›creative labour‹ and the development of new methodologies for qualitative research in art and design.

Lay summary

Based on approaches to culture as a conglomerate of social practices, we regard the creative in Creative Industries as a gap to be filled with discursive-material practices that make up distinct creativity cultures. That is, instead of departing from an anthropological concept of creativity, we think of it as a culturally-specific, discursive phenomenon as a reaction to the ubiquitous demand for creativity in current knowledge societies. The central questions of the project are: What role do concepts of creativity and creative praxis play in the targeted fields of the Creative Industries? How are culturally-specific understandings of creativity negotiated, instituted, and reworked in production practices?

Our primary goals are the development of a modular theory-methods package for qualitative research in art and design and a contribution to social science analyses of (cultural) production and work organisation in Creative Industries. This includes an empirical interest in the meaning and significance of creativity in the targeted fields as well as a theoretical discussion of the relationship of discourses and practices in the context of cultural theories of social practice. Methodologically, we seek to combine qualitative research techniques with collaborative projects at the interface of art, design and research.

Lead
Das Forschungsprojekt »Machine Love? Kreativitätskulturen in elektronischer Musik und Softwareentwicklung« wurde konzipiert um die Bedeutung des ›Kreativen‹ in zwei Bereichen der Creative Industries: der elektronischen Musikproduktion und der Softwareentwicklung im Kontext der Creative Industries zu untersuchen und neue Methoden für die qualitative Forschung in Kunst und Design zu entwerfen.

Lay summary

Ausgehend von Ansätzen zur Erforschung von Kultur als Konglomerat von sozialen Praktiken verstehen wir unter Kreativität eine mit Praktiken zu füllenden Leerstelle, die zur Definition von distinkten Kreativitätskulturen zwingt. Statt von einem anthropologischen Kreativitätsbegriff gehen wir von einem kulturell-spezifischen, diskursiven Phänomen als Reaktion auf den, aktuelle Wissensgesellschaften kennzeichnenden, Zwang zur Kreativität aus. Die zentralen Forschungsfragen des Projekts lauten daher: Welche Rolle spielen Kreativitätskonzept in den Creative Industries? Wie werden kulturell-spezifische Verständnisse von Kreativität ausgehandelt, institutionalisiert und in der Praxis rekonzeptualisiert?

Ziele des Projekts sind die Erarbeitung eines Werkzeugkastens für die qualitative Forschung in Kunst und Design sowie einen Beitrag zur gesellschaftswissenschaftlichen Analysen der (kulturellen) Produktion and Arbeitsorganisation in den Creative Industries zu leisten. Dies schliesst ein empirisches Interesse an der Bedeutung des ›Kreativen‹ in den gewählten Bereichen ebenso ein wie eine theoretische Diskussion des Verhältnisses von Diskursen und Praktiken im Kontext von Theorien der Kultur als Konglomerat von sozialen Praktiken. In methodologischer Hinsicht kombinieren wir qualitative Forschungstechniken mit kollaborativen Projekten an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Design und Wissenschaft.