Lead
Based on my master’s thesis on the urban foster care system of Zurich regarding their indentured child servants (1921-1960), this doctoral thesis aims to reconstruct and compare the child indentureship system in the Cantons of Zurich, Berne and Basel throughout the 20th century.

Lay summary

The project aims to establish which institutions were concerned with this specific field of welfare in the aforementioned regions as well as the pertinent legal grounds of their actions. Moreover, the poverty debates of the time will be analyzed in order to illustrate how poverty was explained and which convictions were commonly held to be „professional knowledge" at the time. To what extent do various poverty conceptions also serve to illuminate the respective welfare and (considering the child indentureship system) foster care practices?

 

In addition, the project intends to show the media of argument transfer by providing proof of the existence of a professional network between the involved institutions, which operated by means of specialist journals, and an eager reciprocal exchange of information in practice. Especially the role of the administrative case files is to be clarified.

 

Finally, I would like to analyze the radii of impact that the investigated arguments reached - both within a particular Canton (i.e. between urban and rural areas of a state), as well as between different Cantons. In doing so, I plan to get to the bottom of the alleged pioneer function of the city of Zurich in modern Swiss child and youth welfare.

 

This dissertation is meant as a contribution to a well-founded debate on the Swiss child indentureship system in academic research as well as in society.

Lead
Aufbauend auf meine Lizentiatsarbeit zur Versorgungspolitik der Stadt Zürich hinsichtlich ihrer Verdingkinder (1921-1960), soll in der zu verfassenden Promotionsarbeit das Verdingkinderwesens in den Kantonen Zürich, Bern und Basel im 20. Jahrhundert rekonstruiert und miteinander verglichen werden.

Lay summary

Konkret wird einerseits ermittelt, welche Institutionen in den erwähnten Regionen für diesen Fürsorgebereich zuständig und welche die relevanten juristischen Grundlagen waren. Andererseits werden die damaligen Armendebatten zu analysieren sein. Diese sollen in erster Linie darüber Aufschluss geben, womit Armut erklärt worden ist und welche Überzeugungen damals als „Fachwissen“ anerkannt waren. Inwiefern dienen diese unterschiedlichen Armutswahrnehmungen ausserdem dazu, die jeweiligen Fürsorge- und (im Hinblick auf das Verdingkinderwesen) Versorgungspraktiken zu erklären? 



Anhand eines Nachweises der professionellen Vernetzung zwischen involvierten Institutionen durch Fachzeitschriften und den regen wechselseitigen Informationsaustausch aus der Praxis, sollen darüber hinaus die Medien der Argumentationsübertragung aufgezeigt werden. Insbesondere wird dabei die Rolle der behördlichen Fallakten zu klären sein. 



Schliesslich möchte ich die Wirkungsradien der ermittelten Argumentationen zum einen innerhalb der einzelnen Kantone (d. h. zwischen Stadt und Landschaft), zum andern transkantonal untersuchen, um nicht zuletzt der vermeintlichen Pionierfunktion der Stadt Zürich in der modernen Schweizer Kinder- und Jugendfürsorge auf den Grund zu gehen.



Diese Dissertation soll einen Beitrag zur wissenschaftlich begründeten Auseinandersetzung mit dem schweizerischen Verdingkinderwesen sowohl in der Forschung als auch in der Gesellschaft leisten.