Lead
This project combines different environmental-economic modeling approaches to provide decision support for a variety of stakeholders for the further development of the Swiss agri-food system. It specifically addresses the challenge to align food provision and resource efficiency goals.

Lay summary

Background

The Swiss agri-food system has to fulfill multiple social, economic, and environmental functions under continuously more challenging framework conditions such as population and economic growth, climate change, resource scarcity, price volatility on international markets, international political instability and technical change. The central question in this context is how food for a steadily growing population can be provided in a sustainable way. A variety of actors are involved in the production, processing, distribution, trade and consumption of food and thus determine the economic and environmental impacts of these activities.

Aim

The complexity of the Swiss agri-food system makes it difficult to assess the impacts of changing framework conditions and of policy interventions aimed at increasing the sustainability of the Swiss agri-food system. For this reason, the project develops static as well as dynamic simulation models and uses them for designing pathways towards increased sustainability. Scenarios and policy interventions are developed in an iterative and participatory process involving the relevant actors in the Swiss agri-food system.

Significance

The models allow identifying synergies and trade-offs between the provision of food and resource efficiency. They test interventions and strategies for increasing the sustainability of the Swiss agri-food system suggested by actors involved in the project or by other NRP69 projects. The database with all the collected and coherently organized data will be made available to the public upon completion of the project and can thus be used for analyses that go beyond the current project.

Lead
Dieses Projekt kombiniert verschiedene umweltökonomische Modellierungsansätze, um Entscheidungsgrundlagen für die Weiterentwicklung der Schweizer Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft bereitzustellen. Im Vordergrund steht dabei die Herausforderung, Ernährungssicherheit und Ressourceneffizienz in Einklang zu bringen.

Lay summary

Hintergrund 

Verschiedene Entwicklungen im In- und Ausland (z.B. Bevölkerungs- und Wirtschaftswachstum, Klimawandel, Rohstoff- und Ressourcenknappheit, Preisentwicklung auf den internationalen Agrarmärkten, weltpolitisches Kräfteverhältnis und technischer Fortschritt) stellen die Schweizer Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft vor zahlreiche Herausforderungen. Dabei geht es letztendlich immer um die Frage, wie Nahrungsmittel auf nachhaltige Weise bereitgestellt werden können. Eine Vielzahl von Akteuren ist an der Produktion, Verarbeitung, Verteilung, am Handel und am Konsum von Nahrungsmitteln beteiligt und bestimmt damit die wirtschaftlichen und ökologischen Auswirkungen dieser Aktivitäten.

Ziel

Die Komplexität der Schweizer Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft macht es schwierig, die Auswirkungen von veränderten Rahmenbedingungen und von möglichen Politikmassnahmen zur Verbesserung der Nachhaltigkeit abzuschätzen. Aus diesem Grund entwickelt das Projekt verschiedene umweltökonomische Simulationsmodelle und wendet diese an, um nachhaltige Entwicklungspfade für die Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft aufzuzeigen. Szenarienannahmen und relevante Politikmassnahmen werden in einem iterativen und partizipativen Prozess mit den relevanten Akteueren in der Schweizer Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft erarbeitet.

Bedeutung

Die Modelle ermöglichen es, Synergien und Zielkonflikte zwischen Nahrungsmittelbereitstellung und Ressourceneffizienz zu identifizieren. Sie testen Interventionen und Strategien zur Erhöhung der Nachhaltigkeit, die entweder von den im Projekt involvierten Akteuren oder von anderen Projekten aus dem NFP69 vorgeschlagen werden. Die Datenbank mit allen systematisch erfassten und zusammen getragenen Daten wird im Anschluss an das Projekt öffentlich verfügbar gemacht und kann damit für weitere Analysen, die über das Projekt hinausgehen, verwendet werden.