Lead
Persons at the end of life are often admitted to intensive care units (ICUs). This study examines how physicians make the decision to admit or not admit a seriously ill hospitalized patient to the ICU.

Lay summary

Background
Intensive care is a special and costly medical service. A patient in the ICU is under a great deal of physical and emotional burden. The aim is to significantly increase survival rates and quality of life. At the same time, transfers to the ICU must be done with the patients' agreement. The patients are mainly frail and elderly persons and persons with serious illnesses and therefore poor prognoses. The decision-making process has to be fair. When the circumstances are assessed, all patients should be treated equitably.

Aim
This study aims to find out what factors form the basis for physicians' decisions to transfer or not transfer a hospital patient to the ICU. Interviews with internists and intensive care physicians form one part of the study. In addition, decision criteria will be evaluated by questionnaire. The study aims to find out, for one, whether ICU physicians’ assessments of the likelihood of death of patients planned to be transferred to the ICU are the same as ward physicians' assessments. For another, the aim is to uncover what factors these assessments are based on.

Significance
The results of the study should contribute towards discovering possible improvements in admission of patients to the ICU and towards developing strategies for equitable distribution of these health care resources.

Lead
Ce projet étudie sur quelle base les médecins prennent la décision de transférer ou non un patient hospitalisé souffrant d’une maladie grave de mauvais pronostic à l’unité de soins intensifs.

Lay summary

Contexte
Les soins intensifs sont des prestations de santé particulières et coûteuses. Un patient séjournant en unité de soins intensifs est soumis à une lourde charge physique et émotionnelle, qui ne se justifie que si ses chances de survie et sa qualité de vie s’améliorent de manière significative. De plus, le transfert doit être en accord avec les souhaits du patient. Il peut être particulièrement difficile d’évaluer le bénéfice réel des soins intensifs pour des patients très fragiles, d’âge avancé et des personnes souffrant d’une maladie grave et ayant un mauvais pronostic. Le processus décisionnel doit être équitable. S’agissant par exemple de soupeser les circonstances, il convient de traiter tous les patients à égalité.

But
L’étude s’interroge sur les facteurs qui conduisent les médecins à transférer ou non un patient à l’unité de soins intensifs. Des entretiens avec des spécialistes de médecine interne et de médecine intensive forment une partie de l’étude. De plus, une évaluation des critères de décision est réalisée à l’aide d’un questionnaire. Il s’agit de déterminer d’une part si les médecins d’USI évaluent de la même manière que leurs collègues de médecine interne le risque de décès des patients. D’autre part, nous voulons examiner en fonction de quels facteurs ces évaluations sont effectuées.

Portée
Les résultats devraient permettre de déterminer des possibilités d’amélioration lors de l’évaluation de patients pour lesquels un transfert en unité de soins intensifs est envisagé et d’élaborer des stratégies favorables à une répartition équitable de cette ressource de santé.