Lead
Life and death are a central topic for religions and religiosity. This study examines the conceptions, distribution and consequences of alternative religious ideas and practices with regard to dealing with dying in Switzerland.

Lay summary

Background

In Switzerland, with the far-reaching changes in the religious landscape, the significance of alternative religious concepts and practices is increasing steadily. The main characteristics of these alternative forms of religion are their emphasis on the individual, its world affirmation, its scepticism towards the concept of a personal God and religious institutions, as well as its reference to “spirituality” rather than “religion”. This study examines these forms of religion with regard to end-of-life care by focusing on six case studies including a hospice for the terminally ill and dying, two palliative care units, an anthroposophic medical hospital and a conventional medical hospital that both offer palliative care as part of their primary health care.

 

Aim

Centring on that stage of life when all agents act on the assumption that the patient's death is imminent, the study examines the significance of alternative forms of religion for the health care facility, its staff and for the terminally ill and dying. The relevant agents - and their experiences, needs and challenges - are investigated using ethnographic methods, qualitative interviews and text analysis.

 

Significance

The study provides new insights on the consequences of alternative forms of religion in end-of-life care. Amongst other, it proves that, in addition to physicians and nurses, alternative and complementary therapists make an important contribution when it comes to alternative religious concepts and practices at the end of life. Irrespective of their ideological and/or religious affiliation (to anthroposophic medicine, for example), they provide room for religious meaning and action beyond the conventional provision of end-of-life care. It shows that this form of religious/spiritual care often takes place without the use of language, whereby the various sorts of religious/spiritual references remain implicit. Thus, most of what happens in this regard is bodily oriented. This, however, may create a need for language-oriented forms of treating terminally ill and dying patients. Here, the study shows that whereas anthroposophic medical physicians, for example, more likely feel and prove to be open to conversations about religious/spiritual topics, less alternatively socialized agents (such as nurses or conventional religious healthcare chaplains) often lack the specific semantics or even the willingness to provide for these sorts of needs.

Lead
Leben und Sterben sind ein zentrales Thema für Religionen und Religiosität. Dieses Projekt untersucht die Konzeptionen, Verbreitung und die Konsequenzen alternativ-religiöser Vorstellungen und Praktiken im Hinblick auf den Umgang mit Sterbenden in der Schweiz.

Lay summary

Hintergrund

In der Schweiz nimmt die Bedeutung alternativ-religiöser Konzepte und Praktiken aufgrund der tiefgreifenden Veränderung der religiösen Landschaft stetig zu. Merkmale dieser alternativen Formen von Religion sind vielfach der Bezug auf das Individuum, Weltbejahung, Skepsis gegenüber der Konzeption eines personalen Gottes und religiösen Institutionen sowie die Berufung auf "Spiritualität" anstatt "Religion". Die Studie untersucht solche Formen von Religion hinsichtlich der Begleitung am Lebensende anhand von sechs Fallstudien. Dazu gehören ein Hospiz für schwer Kranke und Sterbende, zwei Palliativstationen sowie ein anthroposophisches und ein konventionell medizinisches Krankenhaus, die Palliative Care in der Grundversorgung anbieten.

 

Ziel

Indem sich die Studie auf diejenige Phase des Lebens konzentriert, in der sämtliche Akteur_innen vom kurz bevorstehenden Tod ausgehen, wird die Bedeutung alternativer Formen von Religion sowohl für die Gesundheitseinrichtung und ihre Mitarbeitenden als auch für die schwer Kranken und Sterbenden untersucht. Die relevanten Akteur_innen – samt ihren Erfahrungen, Bedürfnissen und Herausforderungen – werden vermittels ethnographischer Verfahren, qualitativer Interviews und Textanalysen erhoben.

 

Bedeutung

Die Studie liefert neue Erkenntnisse zu den Konsequenzen alternativer Formen von Religion in der Begleitung am Lebensende. Sie zeigt u.a., dass neben den Ärzt_innen und Pflegenden vor allem alternative und komplementäre Therapeut_innen einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten, wenn es um alternativ-religiöse Konzepte und Praktiken geht. Unabhängig ihrer weltanschaulichen resp. religiösen Zugehörigkeit (wie z.B. zur Anthroposophie) schaffen sie Raum für Handlungsformen, die über die herkömmliche Versorgung hinausgehen. Häufig kommt diese Art der religiösen resp. spirituellen Begleitung indessen ohne die Verwendung von Sprache aus, womit die alternativ-religiösen Referenzen implizit bleiben. Daraus resultiert, dass die meisten Handlungsformen vornehmlich körperorientiert sind, was einen Bedarf an gesprächsorientierten Formen der Begleitung entstehen lassen kann. Hier hat die Studie aufgezeigt, dass sich z.B. gerade anthroposophische Ärzt_innen eher befähigt und verantwortlich fühlen, auch religiöse resp. spirituelle Aspekte zu thematisieren, während es weniger alternativ sozialisierten Akteur_innen (wie z.B. Pflegenden oder konventionell religiösen Seelsorgenden) zuweilen am notwendigen Vokabular, aber auch an der Bereitschaft fehlt, solche Bedürfnisse zu berücksichtigen.