Lead
For medical teams it is often difficult to take patients’ wishes into consideration and to support patients’ family members. To gain insight into these processes, this study will bring together and test the instruments of advanced care planning and decision aids.

Lay summary
Background
In the last 20 years, it has been shown that it is ethically and legally important to make pa-tients’ living wills and advance directives more legally binding. The forthcoming new "adult protection law" will support this. However, this will not guarantee that treatments at the end of life will be adapted to the patients’ wishes or that decision-making will be easier for patients, their families and the medical team.

Aim
This study aims to work with national and international partners to develop best practice in planning for the end of life. For Switzerland this means first testing a programme for acute hospitals. As one part of the programme, physicians will receive further training in this area. For another, and similar to successful programmes in other countries, also other qualified health care staff (nurses, social workers, pastors) will be certified hold conversations and provide information. The programme will be tested by means of an intervention study. Partic-ipants will be competent patients that have a life expectancy of a few weeks or months and their closest relatives.

Significance
Previous studies have shown that programmes with structured informational conversations by trained medical teams lead to an increase in the number of living wills and advance directives; decision uncertainty decreases, and patients’ wishes are followed more frequently. In addition, after the patient’s death, family members appear to be significantly less traumatised and depressed. With these programmes, there is also a drop in the number of invasive medical procedures and in the costs at the end of life, with no negative effect on mortality. The research team hopes that, by means of the further education programme and associated documentation as well as the sharing of information between hospital, rescue services and primary care physicians, practices can be significantly improved.

Lead
Für behandelnde Teams ist es oft schwierig, die Wünsche der Patienten am Lebensende zu berücksichtigen und die Angehörigen zu unterstützen. Um Einsicht in diese Prozesse zu erhalten, sollen die Instrumente der Planung ("Advance Care Planning") und der Entscheidungshilfen ("Decision Aids") zusammengeführt und in der Praxis getestet werden.

Lay summary
Hintergrund
In den letzten 20 Jahren hat sich gezeigt, dass die Stärkung der rechtlichen Verbindlichkeit von Patientenverfügungen ethisch und juristisch relevant ist. Das kommende Erwachsenenschutzrecht fördert diese Stärkung. Damit ist jedoch nicht gewährleistet, dass die Behandlung am Lebensende den Wünschen der Patienten angepasst wird oder die Entscheidungsfindung der Patienten, ihrer Angehörigen und der Behandlungsteams leichter geworden ist.

Ziel
Die Studie beabsichtigt, zusammen mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern die Best Practice zur Planung der Situation am Lebensende zu entwickeln. Für die Schweiz bedeutet dies zunächst, ein Programm für das Akutspital zu testen. Durch das Programm werden zum einen Ärzte und Ärztinnen weitergebildet. Analog zu international erfolgreichen Programmen werden zum anderen auch Fachkräfte des Gesundheitswesens (Pflegende, Sozialarbeitende, Seelsorgende) zur zertifizierten Gesprächsführung ausgebildet. Das Programm wird mittels einer Interventionsstudie getestet. Berücksichtigt werden urteilsfähige Patienten, die voraussichtlich nur noch wenige Wochen bis Monate zu leben haben, und ihre nächsten Bezugspersonen.

Bedeutung
Bisherige Studien zeigen, dass Programme strukturierter Gespräche durch geschulte Behandlungsteams dazu führen, dass die Anzahl der Patientenverfügungen zunimmt, die Entscheidungsunsicherheit abnimmt und die Wünsche der Patienten häufiger berücksichtigt werden. Angehörige scheinen zudem nach dem Tod des Patienten signifikant weniger traumatisiert und depressiv zu sein. Zudem nehmen durch solche Programme die Zahl medizinisch invasiver Behandlungen und die Kosten am Lebensende ab, ohne dass dies einen negativen Einfluss auf die Sterblichkeit hat. Die Forschenden hoffen mittels des Weiterbildungsprogramms, der damit verbundenen Dokumentation und der Informationsvermittlung zwischen Spital, Rettungsdiensten und Hausärzten und -ärztinnen die Praxis entscheidend zu verbessern.