Lead
For medical teams it is often difficult to take patients’ wishes into consideration and to support patients’ family members. To gain insight into these processes, this study will bring together and test the instruments of advanced care planning and decision aids.

Lay summary
Background
In the last 20 years, it has been shown that it is ethically and legally important to make pa-tients’ living wills and advance directives more legally binding. The forthcoming new "adult protection law" will support this. However, this will not guarantee that treatments at the end of life will be adapted to the patients’ wishes or that decision-making will be easier for patients, their families and the medical team.

Aim
This study aims to work with national and international partners to develop best practice in planning for the end of life. For Switzerland this means first testing a programme for acute hospitals. As one part of the programme, physicians will receive further training in this area. For another, and similar to successful programmes in other countries, also other qualified health care staff (nurses, social workers, pastors) will be certified hold conversations and provide information. The programme will be tested by means of an intervention study. Partic-ipants will be competent patients that have a life expectancy of a few weeks or months and their closest relatives.

Significance
Previous studies have shown that programmes with structured informational conversations by trained medical teams lead to an increase in the number of living wills and advance directives; decision uncertainty decreases, and patients’ wishes are followed more frequently. In addition, after the patient’s death, family members appear to be significantly less traumatised and depressed. With these programmes, there is also a drop in the number of invasive medical procedures and in the costs at the end of life, with no negative effect on mortality. The research team hopes that, by means of the further education programme and associated documentation as well as the sharing of information between hospital, rescue services and primary care physicians, practices can be significantly improved.

Lead
Les équipes soignantes ont souvent du mal à tenir compte des souhaits des patients en fin de vie et à soutenir les proches. Afin de mieux comprendre ces processus, l’étude vise à relier et à tester les instruments de planification ("Advance Care Planning") et d’aide à la décision ("Decision Aids").

Lay summary
Contexte
Depuis une vingtaine d’années, il est apparu que le renforcement de la valeur juridique des directives anticipées a des conséquences éthiques et juridiques. Le nouveau droit de la protection de l’adulte va dans le sens de ce renforcement. Mais ceci ne garantit pas que le traitement prodigué en fin de vie soit adapté aux souhaits du patient ou que la prise de décision soit plus facile pour les patients, les proches et les équipes soignantes.

But
Cette étude a pour but, en coopération avec des partenaires nationaux et internationaux, d’élaborer les meilleures pratiques pour planifier la situation en fin de vie. Pour la Suisse, cela signifie tout d’abord de tester un programme pour les hôpitaux de soins aigus. Ce programme permet d’une part aux médecins de se perfectionner. D’autre part, par analogie avec des programmes mis en œuvre avec succès dans d’autres pays, des personnes travaillant dans le système de santé (infirmiers, travailleurs sociaux, assistants spirituels) suivent une formation certifiée à l’entretien de planification. Ce programme est testé par le biais d’une étude d’intervention. Celle-ci tiendra compte de patients capables de discernement, n’ayant probablement plus que quelques semaines ou quelques mois à vivre, et de leurs proches.

Portée
Les études réalisées jusqu’à présent montrent que des programmes d’entretiens structurés par des équipes de soins formées font augmenter le nombre de directives anticipées, diminuer les incertitudes dans la prise de décisions et améliorer la prise en compte des souhaits des patients. De plus, il semble que les proches soient nettement moins traumatisés et dépressifs suite au décès du patient. Par ailleurs, ces programmes font diminuer le nombre de traitements médicaux invasifs et les coûts en fin de vie, sans pour autant avoir un impact négatif sur la mortalité. À l’aide du programme de perfectionnement, de sa documentation et de la transmission d’informations entre l’hôpital, les services de secours et les médecins de famille, les chercheurs espèrent améliorer la pratique de manière décisive.