Lead
Concurrent transformation of wood into commodity chemicals The project is aimed at the transformation of woody biomass into valuable chemicals. The main approach involves the development of highly effective nanocatalysts and use of multifunctional catalytic systems. The project will potentially lead to new efficient routes that will be scaled-up to a pilot plant.

Lay summary

Background
Presently, very few compounds of commercial interest are directly accessible from woody biomass using non-fermentive processes. Despite much progress on the catalytic transfor-mation of woody biomass in the past decade, the situation necessitates the development of a new strategy for wood transformation. This research group is among the pioneers in establish-ing novel conversions of cellulose and lignin, the key components in woody biomass. In the past few years they reported novel nanoparticle catalysts and multifunctional catalytic systems tailor designed for the effective and selective degradation of these biopolymers. In this project, they intend to develop processes that meet commercial expectations.

Aim
A distinct transformation strategy for wood, as well as other lignocellulosic materials, into commodity chemicals (monohydric alcohols, diols, and polyols, furfural, furan and hydrofuran derivatives, ketones, acids, and aromatic compounds) which could be further processed into either fine chemicals or fuels, will be explored. To achieve this goal, the project will be carried out in two parallel parts: catalyst optimisation and process optimisation. The first part involves the designing of stable, selective and active nanocatalysts and the development of efficient multifunctional catalytic systems, whereas the second part includes product identification, reaction pathway elucidation and downstream transformations.

Significance
The researchers describe a strategy for the concurrent transformation of wood into a variety of chemicals under mild conditions. This project will potentially lead to the utilisation of wood for both chemical and fuel applications. The team hopes to develop a few excellent catalytic systems that will allow the process to be transferred to the pilot plant scale at relatively low cost.

Lead
Simultane Umwandlung von Holz in chemische Grundprodukte Ziel dieses Projektes ist es, Holzbiomasse in wertvolle chemische Produkte umzuwandeln. Dies soll durch die Entwicklung hocheffizienter Nanokatalysatoren sowie den Einsatz multifunktioneller Katalysesysteme erreicht werden. Die Forschungsarbeiten führen potenziell zu neuen, effizienten Reaktionswegen, die in Pilotanlagen in grösserem Massstab zum Einsatz kommen sollen.

Lay summary

Hintergrund
Derzeit kann nur eine sehr geringe Anzahl wirtschaftlich interessanter Verbindungen direkt aus Holzbiomasse gewonnen werden, ohne auf Fermentation zurückzugreifen. Trotz zahlreicher Fortschritte im Laufe der letzten zehn Jahre ist für die Umwandlung von Holz die Entwicklung neuer Strategien nötig. Als Pionierin bei der Umwandlung von Cellulose und Lignin (den beiden wichtigsten Bestandteilen von Holzbiomasse) stellte die Forschungsgruppe in den vergangenen Jahren die Verwendung multifunktioneller Katalysesystemen und neuer Katalysatoren auf Nanopartikelbasis vor, die speziell auf die gezielte und effiziente Zersetzung dieser beiden Biopolymere ausgelegt sind. Von diesem Projekt erhoffen sich die Forschenden die Entwicklung von Prozessen, die kommerziellen Anforderungen gerecht werden.

Ziel
Die Gruppe erforscht eine neuartige Strategie zur Umwandlung von Holz und anderen Lignocellulosematerialien in chemische Grundprodukte (einwertige, zweiwertige und mehrwertige Alkohole, Furfural, Furan und Hydrofuranderivate, Ketone, Säuren und aromatische Verbindungen) und letztendlich in Feinchemikalien und Kraftstoffe. Hierzu verfolgt das Projekt zwei parallele Ansätze: die Optimierung der Katalysatoren sowie die Optimierung der Prozesse. Der erste Ansatz besteht in der Konzeption stabiler, selektiver und aktiver Nanokatalysatoren sowie in der Entwicklung leistungsstarker multifunktioneller Katalysesysteme. Der zweite Ansatz betrifft die Identifizierung von Produkten sowie das Verständnis der Reaktionswege und nachgelagerten Umwandlungen.

Bedeutung
Die Forschenden beschreiben eine Strategie, wie sich Holz unter milden Bedingungen simultan in eine Reihe chemischer Produkte umwandeln lässt. Durch diese Forschung kann Holz potenziell zu einem Rohstoff für die Herstellung von chemischen Produkten oder Kraftstoffen werden. Die Forschungsgruppe plant die Entwicklung effizienter Katalysesysteme, die die Umsetzung des Prozesses im Pilotanlagenmassstab zu relativ geringen Kosten ermöglichen.