Lead
Concurrent transformation of wood into commodity chemicals The project is aimed at the transformation of woody biomass into valuable chemicals. The main approach involves the development of highly effective nanocatalysts and use of multifunctional catalytic systems. The project will potentially lead to new efficient routes that will be scaled-up to a pilot plant.

Lay summary

Background
Presently, very few compounds of commercial interest are directly accessible from woody biomass using non-fermentive processes. Despite much progress on the catalytic transfor-mation of woody biomass in the past decade, the situation necessitates the development of a new strategy for wood transformation. This research group is among the pioneers in establish-ing novel conversions of cellulose and lignin, the key components in woody biomass. In the past few years they reported novel nanoparticle catalysts and multifunctional catalytic systems tailor designed for the effective and selective degradation of these biopolymers. In this project, they intend to develop processes that meet commercial expectations.

Aim
A distinct transformation strategy for wood, as well as other lignocellulosic materials, into commodity chemicals (monohydric alcohols, diols, and polyols, furfural, furan and hydrofuran derivatives, ketones, acids, and aromatic compounds) which could be further processed into either fine chemicals or fuels, will be explored. To achieve this goal, the project will be carried out in two parallel parts: catalyst optimisation and process optimisation. The first part involves the designing of stable, selective and active nanocatalysts and the development of efficient multifunctional catalytic systems, whereas the second part includes product identification, reaction pathway elucidation and downstream transformations.

Significance
The researchers describe a strategy for the concurrent transformation of wood into a variety of chemicals under mild conditions. This project will potentially lead to the utilisation of wood for both chemical and fuel applications. The team hopes to develop a few excellent catalytic systems that will allow the process to be transferred to the pilot plant scale at relatively low cost.

Lead
Transformation simultanée du bois en produits chimiques de base Ce projet vise à transformer la biomasse ligneuse en produits chimiques de valeur. L'approche principale requiert le développement de nanocatalyseurs très efficaces ainsi que l'utilisation de systèmes catalytiques multifonctionnels. Les travaux conduiront potentiellement à de nouveaux chemins réactionnels efficaces qui seront transposés à plus grande échelle dans des usines pilotes.

Lay summary

Contexte
Actuellement, seul un très faible nombre de composés d’intérêt commercial est directement accessible à partir de la biomasse ligneuse sans avoir recours à la fermentation. Malgré les nombreux progrès effectués durant la dernière décennie, la transformation du bois nécessite le développement de nouvelles stratégies. Pionnier dans la conversion de la cellulose et de la lignine (composés clés de la biomasse ligneuse), le groupe de recherche a présenté, ces dernières années, l’utilisation de nouveaux catalyseurs à base de nanoparticules ainsi que de systèmes catalytiques multifonctionnels adaptés à une dégradation sélective et efficace de ces deux biopolymères. Avec ce projet, les chercheurs souhaitent développer des procédés à même de répondre à des attentes commerciales.

But
Le groupe explorera une stratégie distincte de transformation du bois – et d’autres matériaux lignocellulosiques – en produits chimiques de base (alcools monohydriques, diols et polyols, furfural, furane et dérivés de l’hydrofurane, cétones, acides et composés aromatiques) et, par la suite, en produits de chimie fine et carburants. A cette fin, le projet suivra deux pistes parallèles: l’optimisation des catalyseurs et l’optimisation des procédés. La première consiste à concevoir des nanocatalyseurs stables, sélectifs et actifs ainsi qu’à développer des systèmes catalytiques multifonctionnels performants. La seconde partie traite de l’identification des produits, de l’élucidation des chemins réactionnels et des transformations en aval.

Portée
Les chercheurs décriront une stratégie de transformation simultanée du bois en une variété de produits chimiques dans des conditions douces. Cette recherche pourrait, potentiellement, faire du bois une matière première pour la fabrication de produits chimiques ou de carburants. Le groupe souhaite développer quelques systèmes catalytiques efficaces permettant de transposer le procédé à l’échelle d’une usine pilote qui aura un coût relativement faible.