Lead
Examining the case of tax and social transfer policies in Switzerland as an example, this project aims to find out how strongly family policy in the Swiss cantons takes gender-relevant factors into consideration, and what factors promote or hinder evidence-based policy making.

Lay summary

Background
Policy making in the case of taxes and social transfer and its consequences for single parents and couples with children varies widely from canton to canton. Analyses show that, for many couples, splitting paid employment between them does not pay off financially. This is problematic not only for gender equality but also for economic policy.

Aim
The concept of evidence-based policy assumes that policy should benefit from systematically obtained, empirically based and argumentatively well-founded knowledge. This project examines whether evidence-based information was available to the cantonal policy makers for decisions in the tax and social transfer policy area, and what influence this information had on policy making. The study will also focus on factors that promoted or hindered evidence-based policy making.
As a starting point of the analysis, an inventory of relevant family policy decisions at the cantonal level will be drawn up. Then it will be examined whether the policy making was based on evidence-based information and how differences among the cantons can be explained. Selected decision-making processes in six cantons will also be investigated as case studies with the aim to compiling a detailed analysis of the effects.

Significance
Gender mainstreaming aims to take into consideration the direct and indirect effects of all policy decisions on gender equality. A precondition for this is that evidence-based information is used in the policy-making process. For this reason, in addition to scientific publications, the project team plans to develop a checklist for use by cantonal administrations and parliaments. The checklist should sharpen awareness of the effects of tax and social transfer policy on gender equality.

Lead
Das Projekt untersucht am Beispiel der Steuerpolitik und der Gestaltung der Sozialtransfers, wie stark die Familienpolitik der Schweizer Kantone genderrelevante Fakten einbezieht und welche Faktoren die evidenzbasierte Politikgestaltung fördern oder hemmen.

Lay summary
Hintergrund
Die Gestaltung der Steuerpolitik und der Sozialtransfers sowie deren Auswirkungen auf Alleinerziehende und Paare mit Kindern sind von Kanton zu Kanton sehr verschieden. Analysen zeigen, dass sich die Aufteilung der Erwerbsarbeit für viele Paare oftmals finanziell nicht lohnt. Diese Tatsache ist nicht nur gleichstellungs-, sondern auch wirtschaftspolitisch problematisch.

Ziel
Das Konzept der evidenzbasierten Politikgestaltung geht davon aus, dass die Politik von systematisch gewonnenem, empirisch und argumentativ begründetem Wissen profitieren sollte. Im vorliegenden Projekt untersuchen die Forschenden, ob den kantonalen Politikerinnen und Politikern für Entscheidungen in der Steuer- und Transferpolitik evidenzbasierte Informationen zur Verfügung standen und welchen Einfluss diese auf die Politikgestaltung hatten. Zudem interessieren sie die Faktoren, welche die evidenzbasierte Politikgestaltung gefördert oder gehemmt haben.
Die Forschenden erstellen zunächst ein Inventar relevanter, familienpolitischer Entscheidungen auf kantonaler Ebene. Dann untersuchen sie, ob sich die Politikgestaltung auf evidenzbasierte Informationen stützte und wie sich Unterschiede zwischen den Kantonen erklären lassen. In sechs Kantonen analysieren sie zusätzlich die Wirkungszusammenhänge ausgewählter Entscheidungsprozesse im Detail.

Bedeutung
Gender Mainstreaming hat zum Ziel, dass direkte und indirekte Auswirkungen auf die Gleichstellung von Mann und Frau bei allen politischen Entscheiden berücksichtigt werden. Hierfür müssen
evidenzbasierte Informationen im politischen Entscheidungsprozess miteinbezogen werden. Das Projekt beabsichtigt daher, neben wissenschaftlichen Publikationen eine Checkliste für kantonale Verwaltungen und Parlamente zu erarbeiten. Diese soll das Bewusstsein für die Auswirkungen der Steuer- und Transferpolitik auf die Gleichstellung von Mann und Frau schärfen.